Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-05-2013, 09:43 AM   #1
deftonez

Upgrading Guitars

Hi, Im new to this forum and Im in a dilemma right now. I have a Epiphone Les Paul Special II, which is a pretty basic model. I have been playing for two years now and I consider myself an intermediate player. I love metal and rock music. Now Im not sure if I should step up and buy a new guitar, say Epiphone Les Paul standard or maybe Synyster Gates's Schecter, or if I should upgrade my pickups for better sound. Im not really sure if changing pickups would cause significant change in sound quality so I kinda need advice here.
deftonez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 09:50 AM   #2
Robbgnarly

Quote:
Originally Posted by deftonez
Hi, Im new to this forum and Im in a dilemma right now. I have a Epiphone Les Paul Special II, which is a pretty basic model. I have been playing for two years now and I consider myself an intermediate player. I love metal and rock music. Now Im not sure if I should step up and buy a new guitar, say Epiphone Les Paul standard or maybe Synyster Gates's Schecter, or if I should upgrade my pickups for better sound. Im not really sure if changing pickups would cause significant change in sound quality so I kinda need advice here.

Deff get a new guitar.
Deff stay away from the Syn-Gay Sig (yeah I did that on purpose ). It is not just because it is his model, but because it has a hefty price tag because of his name, not the quality of the build. If you really like thae shape, look at the Schecter Avenger.

The LP standard is a good solid guitar and if you go used, you can get them for cheap.

Another guitar to keep in mind are the PRS SE line. I'm not a big Tremonti fan, but his sig guitar is one of the cheapest PRS SE guitars and it has the LP styling (it is a good guitar also)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)