Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-06-2013, 03:41 PM   #1
TheWho2
Eric Clapton is G0D

NGD! Blacktop Jazzmaster

I got a Fender Blacktop Jazzmaster for about $340 off eBay.
(big pictures)
show

I read people having problems with the Tremolo and Bridge but I have yet to run into a problem with them. The tremolo works fine and does not make the guitar go out at all, unless of course you are really rough and attempt to do a dive-bomb or something stupid like that.
The neck is a bit wide/bigger than a Strat neck(which I am used to playing) but it is very playable and feels nice in my smallish hands.

show

There is one master tone and one master volume. The tuners work as they should, keeping the guitar in tune.

show

The pickups are pretty good, though I probably will be replacing the bridge pickup with either a P90 or Filterton style pup.

The bridge humbucker sounds like your typical humbucker, powerful and cuts through. It sounds good, but humbuckers aren't for me.

The Neck pickup is a normal Jazzmaster pickup. It kind of sounds like a beefier P90, it has a nice bell-like tone but thicker than a Strat.

The two pickups together have a unique sound to them. They kind of sound like a in-between setting on a Strat, there is a slight quack and twang. It is kind of hard to describe This is probably my favorite sound on the guitar as of now.

(not so big of a picture)
show

This is a very nice guitar both in play-ability, looks and great for a modern sound.
But I have yet to find a guitar as comfortable as my Strat.

Also if anyone knows how to figure out the serial number, that will be greatly appreciated.

There are more pictures on my Tumblr if you care to look.
TheWho2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 03:57 PM   #2
its_minchew

Looks like a good score! I've been considering a black top tele myself. HNGD!
its_minchew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 04:32 PM   #3