Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-08-2013, 10:19 PM   #1
vote4chapman

Newbie Question/Experienced guitarist

Okay...here goes.

I just kind of want to test the waters here on these forums with this series of questions.
I have been playing for about 20 years. I am very very familiar with pentatonic and natural scales. I have been playing them for years. I've looked at a lot of lessons on here about soloing but...

1. Most of the suggestions seem to tell you to just play somewhere else on the fretboard in the same key. I already do that...am i missing something?

2. In learning scales (harmonic minor, chromatic, etc.), they don't seem to apply to any of the music that I actually play. And when I try playing these scales they just sound ridiculous. Does anyone have any links or hints about where and when and where on the fretboard to play, for instance, the chromatic scale when you're in key of A minor?

3. I really mainly focus on utilizing the natural (minor and major) scales. I've been playing these scales forever and I feel like I'm really missing something.

Any help or suggestions would be AMAZING!

Thanks for reading and sorry if I come off sounding like a total moron despite my experience (I don't read music).
vote4chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:27 PM   #2
rockingamer2
Larmarky Remark

1. You're doing it right.

2. Many of the regulars on this forum here advise against learning different scales and to be willing to play notes outside the scale because many guitarists think that the notes in the major and minor scales are the only ones they can use. It all boils down to using your ear.