Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-09-2013, 11:47 AM   #1
dtkh2009

PRS SE custom 24 or gibson les paul jr with humbuckers or schecter c-1 custom

I am going to buy new gear with tax return $. Best deals are online and i am torn between the prs se custom 24 and gibson lp jr with humbuckers or schecter c-1 custom with seymour.duncans. I will not be swapping the pickups or anything like that since i am mostly a hobbiest. If i go with the prs i hear the tuners are junk so i will be swapping those out. I am an intermediate guitarist, play mostly classic rock and modern rock from frampton to shinedown to 311. Does anyone have any experience with either of these guitars that could sway mr one way or another? Also, last question. On both of these the humbuckers are uncovered. Does it affect the pickups at all if i buy covers for them, just like the look better. Any other guitars in this price range 500-750 i may have overlooked you would suggest?
dtkh2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:15 PM   #2
ibacred
Plays the Geetar

Mandatory question incoming: what amp are you using?

If your amp is fine, I'd personally go with the PRS. The SE Series guitars are fantastic.

Are you willing to buy used? You could score a Gibson Studio used for less then $750, which is much better then the lp junior.

Carvin Bolt Classic
LTD EC 1000
Parker PDF100
HD500 pod
ibacred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:29 PM   #3
dtkh2009

I use an orange dark terror head through a b52 412 cab. Thanks for info on used studio, there seem to be a lot on craigslist etc, just seems every individual you want to buy from thinks their guitar is worth 200 more than they paid for it lol.
dtkh2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:51 PM   #4
GaryBillington
Grumpier than normal.

Have you played any of them yet? That's the only way you can decide which you prefer.
Laney VC30 210 + GS112VE cab