Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 01-10-2013, 08:15 PM   #1
Androidjoey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
How many mics can i really plug into this?

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/US1800/

It says it has 16 simultaneous inputs so can i plug in 16 mics?
Androidjoey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 08:20 PM   #2
xkovacsx09
Tater Salad
 
xkovacsx09's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
from the looks of it, only 8.
xkovacsx09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 08:26 PM   #3
Androidjoey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by xkovacsx09
from the looks of it, only 8.

Do you think it would be possible to daisy chain 2 of them?
Androidjoey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 01:03 AM   #4
lockwolf
Recording's AdBot/Dick
 
lockwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lynnwood, WA
No and don't waste your money on one of those. They're terrible
__________________
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp
lockwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 02:14 AM   #5
Androidjoey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockwolf
No and don't waste your money on one of those. They're terrible

Well then what would you recommend?
Androidjoey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 02:43 AM   #6
T4D
20 guitars and counting..
 
T4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Aussie in the UAE
well 8 with mic preamps/phantom power you could have 2 more if you go direct you could use a sm57 in those 9 and 10 inputs..

Androidjoey why do you need 10 inputs or more ? 8 easily does a drum mic up ?


Lockwolf what is wrong with this interface ?

I have a M-audio delta 10/10 having more inputs let's you bring out board effects into the mix, it's is a nice option.
__________________
Newest Tune
Last Album Album here too
I'm a 3D Artist still making tunes Joy4D Video Joy4D Site

I got Protools, Eleven Rack & lots of other stuff.
T4D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 03:43 AM   #7
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by T4D
well 8 with mic preamps/phantom power you could have 2 more if you go direct you could use a sm57 in those 9 and 10 inputs

What? dynamic mics still need mic preamps to sound any good, just not phantom power. so without external mic preamps you can only use 8 mics into that interface (why you would need any more is beyond me).

If there's something majorly wrong with that interface lockwolf then we might need to get ChemicalFire to remove it from the interfaces sticky.
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 03:47 AM   #8
T4D
20 guitars and counting..
 
T4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Aussie in the UAE
Quote:
Originally Posted by chatterbox272
What? dynamic mics still need mic preamps to sound any good, just not phantom power. so without external mic preamps you can only use 8 mics into that interface (why you would need any more is beyond me)..


well i did say "could"

agree not the best way to get more in but it's a option
__________________
Newest Tune
Last Album Album here too
I'm a 3D Artist still making tunes Joy4D Video Joy4D Site

I got Protools, Eleven Rack & lots of other stuff.
T4D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 03:48 AM   #9
Androidjoey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by T4D
well 8 with mic preamps/phantom power you could have 2 more if you go direct you could use a sm57 in those 9 and 10 inputs..

Androidjoey why do you need 10 inputs or more ? 8 easily does a drum mic up ?


Lockwolf what is wrong with this interface ?

I have a M-audio delta 10/10 having more inputs let's you bring out board effects into the mix, it's is a nice option.

My drummer says he needs at least 10 to mic his set and I need one to mic my amp and one to do vocals. If i get separate preamps can I use the other inputs for my sm57s?
Androidjoey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 04:42 AM   #10
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Androidjoey
My drummer says he needs at least 10 to mic his set and I need one to mic my amp and one to do vocals. If i get separate preamps can I use the other inputs for my sm57s?

Unless his kit takes up a whole room or something he doesn't need 10 mics. Kick mic, Snare Mic, and Overhead will do the job adequately, after that you're adding them to improve the clarity of the individual parts, or a room mic to give it a little more 'feel'. And why are you recording guitar, vocals, and drums at the same time if you're recording digitally? All you'll do is increase the bleed between mics. Honestly I would recommend a 4 channel interface of some description, mic the kit in one take, the guitar in another, and the vocals in a 3rd if possible. Otherwise at least drum in one take, and guitar + vocals in another. Also you'll save money on that because you can double on mics (e.g. SM57 can work as both a snare and guitar mic).
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.

Last edited by chatterbox272 : 01-11-2013 at 04:44 AM.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 04:56 AM   #11
lockwolf
Recording's AdBot/Dick
 
lockwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by T4D
Lockwolf what is wrong with this.


Subpar preamps, bad AD conversion, terrible drivers that don't work. I mean if you wanna waste money on a product that doesn't work well, it's great at that
__________________
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp
lockwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:18 AM   #12
T4D
20 guitars and counting..
 
T4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Aussie in the UAE
Quote:
Originally Posted by Androidjoey
My drummer says he needs at least 10 to mic his set and I need one to mic my amp and one to do vocals. If i get separate preamps can I use the other inputs for my sm57s?


yeah you could use one of These or this I've got both and work well before I go to my m-audio delta 1010


but you could avoid buying those and just give all the 8 main inputs to the drummer ( agree chatterbox272 8 mic's for drums is alittle over the top ) But if you want it, DO IT

and just use the sub pair inputs on the sm57's to layout down the tracks for guitars and vocal to get the feel and timing layed down.

then once you have your drum tracks recorded to your needs

do what you should be doing with the vocal, to the guitar and record in a dry room listening to your drum tracks ( and rough vocal, guitar mix) with headphones and re-record using the better quality inputs.

in this case you would want to keep you guitar and vocal OUT of the drum mic's
__________________
Newest Tune
Last Album Album here too
I'm a 3D Artist still making tunes Joy4D Video Joy4D Site

I got Protools, Eleven Rack & lots of other stuff.

Last edited by T4D : 01-11-2013 at 05:24 AM.
T4D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:19 AM   #13
Androidjoey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chatterbox272
Unless his kit takes up a whole room or something he doesn't need 10 mics. Kick mic, Snare Mic, and Overhead will do the job adequately, after that you're adding them to improve the clarity of the individual parts, or a room mic to give it a little more 'feel'. And why are you recording guitar, vocals, and drums at the same time if you're recording digitally? All you'll do is increase the bleed between mics. Honestly I would recommend a 4 channel interface of some description, mic the kit in one take, the guitar in another, and the vocals in a 3rd if possible. Otherwise at least drum in one take, and guitar + vocals in another. Also you'll save money on that because you can double on mics (e.g. SM57 can work as both a snare and guitar mic).

I told him but he has a huge 20 something piece double bass set and he wants to pickup as much as possible. But the reason we are recording all at once is to get a more live feel. except the vocals witch we are doing after we track the drums and guitar.

Last edited by Androidjoey : 01-11-2013 at 05:21 AM.
Androidjoey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:31 AM   #14
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Androidjoey
I told him but he has a huge 20 something piece double bass set and he wants to pickup as much as possible. But the reason we are recording all at once is to get a more live feel. except the vocals witch we are doing after we track the drums and guitar.

okay I don't agree with it (you could still do that on 4 mics. just go kick, other kick, overhead, snare.) but it's your recording not mine

In that case, I'd try doing the kit on 8 mics rather than 10 (I don't even know what he's gonna do with 10+ mics. both kicks, snare, stereo overhead, hats, stereo toms, and what else?) and I'd try considering running the guitar direct into input 9/10, then running it back through one of the outputs into an amp and micing it then. That'd reduce the bleed without loosing the feel you're after.
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:41 AM   #15
Androidjoey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chatterbox272
okay I don't agree with it (you could still do that on 4 mics. just go kick, other kick, overhead, snare.) but it's your recording not mine

In that case, I'd try doing the kit on 8 mics rather than 10 (I don't even know what he's gonna do with 10+ mics. both kicks, snare, stereo overhead, hats, stereo toms, and what else?) and I'd try considering running the guitar direct into input 9/10, then running it back through one of the outputs into an amp and micing it then. That'd reduce the bleed without loosing the feel you're after.

Well the bass is going di so its tempting me to just run straight in too but I really want to capture the tone from my amp.

Last edited by Androidjoey : 01-11-2013 at 05:48 AM.
Androidjoey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:52 AM   #16
chronowarp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Androidjoey
I told him but he has a huge 20 something piece double bass set and he wants to pickup as much as possible. But the reason we are recording all at once is to get a more live feel. except the vocals witch we are doing after we track the drums and guitar.

kick
snare
tom1
tom2
mono overhead
room
guitar (di)
bass (di)

reamp the guitar and bass after.
__________________
Check out my band Socrates and the Lava Gods
chronowarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:55 AM   #17
Androidjoey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronowarp
kick
snare
tom1
tom2
mono overhead
room
guitar (di)
bass (di)

reamp the guitar and bass after.


Reamp?
Androidjoey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:56 AM   #18
Odirunn
Hi, I'm Adam
 
Odirunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronowarp
kick
snare
tom1
tom2
mono overhead
room
guitar (di)
bass (di)

reamp the guitar and bass after.

A mono room and stereo OH would be much better.
__________________
Let's party.
Odirunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 06:04 AM   #19
Androidjoey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Question the balanced line inputs on the back is where i would plug the external preamps into right?
Androidjoey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 06:12 AM   #20
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Androidjoey
Reamp?

The thing I was suggesting before. Record the guitar DI, then play it back through the amp and record the amp. Gets you the same sound and 'feel' but without all the bleed and extra gear.
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:05 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.