Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Bass Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-11-2013, 04:04 PM   #1
AlexBUltimateGuitar
Account inactive

Thoughts?

So, I'm a guitarist who's looking to pick up bass (how many times have you heard that before? ) on the side to aid in learning music theory and just to mess around with. I walked into a pawn shop and saw a spotless Washburn T14 in its case for around $343 - accessories were a strap, extra strings and a bunch of books on bass and bass theory. I know after getting home and looking it up that I overpaid... ...but I still like it. Weight is a huge issue for me when it comes to guitars thanks to my back and I found other brands like Cort and some Ibanez models to put too much strain on it. This one, however, is light enough.

Thoughts? Did I make a bad buy?
AlexBUltimateGuitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 04:16 PM   #2
FatalGear41
Battle Beagle!

The Washburn T-14 is a well-made, entry-to-middle level bass. It comes in a number of finishes, and the black-on-black fretless model was a thing of beauty (I don't think they offer it anymore). It is a very capable bass with several good tones on tap. Yes, you probably paid a bit on the high side, but if you got a good hardshell case and the bass is one of the more elaborate Taurus basses, then you probably didn't spend too much. Washburn has always - for some unknown reason - largely ignored the bass market, and the result is that they offer only a few models. They're good basses, to be sure, but the company does not aggressively pursue the bass market.

Weight is an issue with a lot of basses, as unlike most guitarists, bassists really go for multi-laminate/sectional instruments constructed out of very heavy, exotic woods. Pick up an Alembic some day and you'll see what I mean. So if you found a lightweight bass that works for you, then by all means stick with it.

Welcome to the Low End, my friend!

Quote: