Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-12-2013, 11:45 PM   #1
BoneAndDream

Feel like I have nothing to say musically

I have been playing for about 3 years now. I am pretty good i would say, i can cover difficult songs and learn some hard solos, fast complicated rhythms etc

but the problem is, i can't make anything of my own

when i sit down to play i dont have anything to "say" through my playing, i can't just feel music and play it. whenever i try to solo, i end up running up and down the c minor scale, or any other scale over and over in triplets, just repeating the same thing over and over.

the notes all fit, but it's never cohesive and smooth, it never comes together as an interesting solo

everybody tells me to "just feel it and you'll get it" but that doesn't work, i end up just sitting there. the one short song i made, i had to think hard about every single note to make it somewhat decent. no solo either. and that was all i had. i havent been able to make another.

please help, I want to be in a band and write my own material someday
BoneAndDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:54 PM   #2
salildeshpande7

figure out your favourite album/music by year, all instruments..
dont learn through tabs any longer, play music and not just scales and tech exercises
salildeshpande7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:55 PM   #3
takachan

To be honest, you would be surprised to find out how much you actually do know.
You stated that you could cover some difficult music on the guitar and your pretty well versed in the terms of guitar theory.
From my experience, I joined a band when I felt I was musically ready.
So I could tackle anything in my way with ease.
However I grew challenges within myself I could have never prepared for.
perhaps you might want to just join and the challenges you will have to face will show up.