Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-13-2013, 06:13 AM   #1
awesomealvin

How long does it take me to be decent at sweeping?

Hello,
I am learning a slow sweep that is around 64BPM. I am new to sweeping, and I am wondering how long it'll take me to be able to play the sweep in full speed. the sweep looks like this:
------17-13-----------------------------17-17-13----16----
--------------15---------------------15------------------------
------------------14-------------14----------------------------
----------------------15-----15--------------------------------
--------------------------17------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------------------

And also, how long will it also take me to be able to play 150bpm sweep?

thanks.
awesomealvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 06:33 AM   #2
Ringo86

Impossible question to answer. It all depends on how easy you learn things, how much you will train sweeppicking, how much you will train other things that will aid you with the sweeppicking and so on and so on.
Ringo86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 07:23 AM   #3
mdc
UG's Mr Chord Man

If you're practising this sort of thing, make sure you do it in some kind of rhythm, like sextuplets. Otherwise it won't mean anything, musically.

Do you know what it is that you're sweeping there? if I said Dm arpeggio, would you know what I'm on about?

What I mentioned above, about sextuplets, do you know what they are?

How long? Music isn't a competition.
mdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:04 AM   #4
TheNameOfNoone
Buckethead's Right Hand

When I decided to work on my sweeping for real, it took me about a week to get decent at sweeping (I was learning Afterlife solo by A7X).
But, eventually, you can never be good enough at anything, there's always better.

The image in my head is just too funny for words at this point