Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Bass Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-17-2013, 09:41 PM   #1
Surfguitarist

Smile looking into playing bass

i have been playing guitar for 3 years but now i am interested in playing bass.
i have a tight budget ($2-300) and i need a bass guitar and amp. i want the guitar to be decent enough so i dont have to upgrade in a year because its garbage, and i need the amp big enough to perform in an a big[ish] auditorium. i have looked at squiers but most i find are the cheap ones from those packs they sell at costco... are those even worth half of the $100 dollars people are asking for them? if you guys know any good basses and amps that would work well for me, please comment below

-C
Surfguitarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:52 PM   #2
ChucklesMginty
¯\_(ツ)_/¯

You can get an okay bass or amp with that budget, but not both.
Old 01-17-2013, 10:00 PM   #3
JesusWeller

With that kind of budget, you really are limited to an amp or a bass, and either way, neither will be anything near spectacular. Ibanez makes some good, cheap basses, and their starter packages include a half decent amp, but nothing near the size to play an auditorium. Like Chuckles says above, amp or bass for that price, but not both, unless you manage to find one hell of a deal on ebay or at a garage sale or summat.
JesusWeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:52 AM   #4
Surfguitarist

i understand my budget is super tight.. with my old 10 watt amp i was able to turn it up enough to play in the auditorium (did it once for fun) but anyways i WILL buy used on craigslist or guitar center. as far as cheap amps and basses go, which brands will produce the best playability and sound?
Old 01-18-2013, 02:07 AM   #5
chatterbox272