Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 01-20-2013, 10:20 AM   #1
MultiM
Registered User
 
MultiM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
saffire audio interface question

can I connect pedals like distortions and delays and stuff to the saffire so it would be like this

guitar>pedals>saffire>computer
so I can get the tone out of the pedals not the DAW
can I?
MultiM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 10:26 AM   #2
GaryBillington
Grumpier than normal.
 
GaryBillington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Trow Vegas
Yes, although you'll probably still want to use an amp & cab simulator as they're as much a part of your tone as your pedals are.

If you already have the tone you're after out of your amp, you might want to use a mic to record it rather than going direct.
__________________
.
Gibson LP Studio x2, SG Special Plus, Midtown Custom
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm > TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30 210 + GS112VE cab
Jet City JCA22H
GaryBillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 10:29 AM   #3
MultiM
Registered User
 
MultiM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
thanks but sorry for my ignorance, what do you mean by amp and cab simulator? the VSt or DAw like reaper or something? if I can connect pedals as you said to the usb audio interface, can I do it with inerfaces other than saffire? like line 6 studio GX guitar port?

Last edited by MultiM : 01-20-2013 at 10:40 AM.
MultiM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 11:28 AM   #4
lockwolf
Recording's AdBot/Dick
 
lockwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lynnwood, WA
VST Amp Simulators, we have a sticky on it.

You can connect pedals but its not advised unless its something like a Wah or Whammy pedal where you actually need to control the settings of it as you play. The quality in the tone is pretty shitty from just the pedals (unless you're using like a Floor Pod with its built in amp sims) and running a pedal before an Amp Sim doesn't give results similar to a real amp with the pedal before it.

Also, don't waste your money on the Line 6 Studio GX, UX1 or UX2, they're all shit.
__________________
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp
lockwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:11 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.