Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 01-22-2013, 10:03 PM   #1
Wrst_Plyr_Evr
UG's only Azorean
 
Wrst_Plyr_Evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Visalia
Tap Tempo+Boss DD-6?

I'm trying to build my own tap tempo for my DD-6 but after reading a bit online it seems like this isn't possible because there's no actual jack on the unit. I know that Aaron Barrett uses a DD-6 and an FS-5L together but I have no idea how he does it. My guess is that he plugged the FS-5L into input A and then went from Input B to Output B on his signal chain. Does anyone know if this is actually possible and how one would go about doing this?
__________________

Last edited by Wrst_Plyr_Evr : 01-22-2013 at 10:08 PM.
Wrst_Plyr_Evr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:24 PM   #2
souperman08
Registered User
 
souperman08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Are you sure you mean the FS-5L? And are you sure it's a DD-6? It would make a lot more sense to me if it was a FS-5U, and a DD-7 or DD-5 (and they would look identical). According to Wikipedia he does have a DD-6, but it doesn't give any sources.
__________________
Telecasters-->Dunlop Volume Pedal-T1M Pearl-AMT Japanese Girl Wah-Line 6 M9-Ibanez DE7-EHX Cathedral-->Mesa Boogie Nomad 4x10 combo
souperman08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:15 PM   #3
Wrst_Plyr_Evr
UG's only Azorean
 
Wrst_Plyr_Evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Visalia
Quote:
Originally Posted by souperman08
Are you sure you mean the FS-5L? And are you sure it's a DD-6? It would make a lot more sense to me if it was a FS-5U, and a DD-7 or DD-5 (and they would look identical). According to Wikipedia he does have a DD-6, but it doesn't give any sources.


Let me snag a screenshot of his pedalboard from Instagram and I'll upload it right quick.
__________________
Wrst_Plyr_Evr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:20 PM   #4
jthm_guitarist
"funny" but "unmemorable"
 
jthm_guitarist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: West Coast USA
Only the DD5 and DD7 accept external tap tempo switches.
__________________

show
jthm_guitarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:33 PM   #5
Oldmonkeys
- Also known as Matt
 
Oldmonkeys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra, Australia
unless he has modded his dd-6 to make the tap tempo function external?
__________________

Gretsch Setzer Hot Rod
Gretsch Power Jet
Fender Tele
Wizard Modern Classic
Vox Lil' Night Train
Hame 2x12



[- "Uncool Aussie" of the Pedalboard Thread -]
Oldmonkeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:47 PM   #6
Wrst_Plyr_Evr
UG's only Azorean
 
Wrst_Plyr_Evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Visalia
Here's his pedal board. It's hard to tell what connects to where because of the stupid filter but the DD-6 up in the top right corner and the FS-5L right below it.

__________________
Wrst_Plyr_Evr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:56 PM   #7
souperman08
Registered User
 
souperman08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
From that picture, I can't really tell what Boss Delay it is (they all look the same), and it doesn't look like the FS-5L is connected to anything. Perhaps he uses that as a channel switcher for his amp? Anyways, the (sad) long story short is that you won't get a external tap tempo without doing some mods, and at that point you'd be better off just selling it and getting a DD-5 or DD-7.
__________________
Telecasters-->Dunlop Volume Pedal-T1M Pearl-AMT Japanese Girl Wah-Line 6 M9-Ibanez DE7-EHX Cathedral-->Mesa Boogie Nomad 4x10 combo
souperman08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 12:05 AM   #8
Wrst_Plyr_Evr
UG's only Azorean
 
Wrst_Plyr_Evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Visalia
Quote:
Originally Posted by souperman08
From that picture, I can't really tell what Boss Delay it is (they all look the same), and it doesn't look like the FS-5L is connected to anything. Perhaps he uses that as a channel switcher for his amp? Anyways, the (sad) long story short is that you won't get a external tap tempo without doing some mods, and at that point you'd be better off just selling it and getting a DD-5 or DD-7.


Plausible, but then I see no need for the Super Distortion. Regardless, that's what I was afraid of. I might just go without or I'll try to sell it. Bummer.
__________________
Wrst_Plyr_Evr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 12:11 AM   #9
jthm_guitarist
"funny" but "unmemorable"
 
jthm_guitarist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: West Coast USA
There is no possible mod you can do to add external tap tempo control to a DD-6.

I did look at that picture really hard and it does appear to be a DD-6, but you can also see that nothing is plugged in besides the input and the output. Also, the FS-5L is latching and couldn't be used to tap tempo anyway, it is most likely used to change channels on something (as mentioned above).
__________________

show
jthm_guitarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 12:31 AM   #10
souperman08
Registered User
 
souperman08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrst_Plyr_Evr
Plausible, but then I see no need for the Super Distortion. Regardless, that's what I was afraid of. I might just go without or I'll try to sell it. Bummer.

Lots of guys use overdrive/distortion pedals pedals along with their amp's. I have a three channel amp, and I usually have 2-3 overdrives and a distortion on my board
__________________
Telecasters-->Dunlop Volume Pedal-T1M Pearl-AMT Japanese Girl Wah-Line 6 M9-Ibanez DE7-EHX Cathedral-->Mesa Boogie Nomad 4x10 combo
souperman08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.