User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-23-2013, 12:04 AM   #1
david-b
I am THAT guy

Question How to fix vocals in live audio

Hey all;
Not sure if this is the best place for it, but seems like it to me. I do some live audio engineering for a 60s, 70s, 80s cover band. Help with setup/tear down and then work the mixer getting everything right throughout the entire 2-3 hour show each time. They're an older bunch, been musicians for a while and know their stuff. Band isn't perfect, but getting there. I'm not a pro by any means when it comes to this, its all for fun and I thoroughly enjoy doing it.

One problem I have with every who no matter where it's at is with the singer. He's got a good voice, so out of the box that's not the problem. When he sings softly, it's hard to hear him through the PA and sounds like he's singing with his hand over his mouth. When he belts it out, it's nice and clear. The problem is clearly with the lower singing and I try to compensate for it at the board but just can't get it.

Here's the setup:
-Singer (Obviously)
-Mic (not sure on the brand, looks like a SM58. I get a lot of the drums bleeding through at the board. Also getting bleed through the keyboardist and guitarist mics from their amps as well.
-He uses some kind of FX processor/preamp pedalboard. We keep turning the output down, but he turns it back up. At the board, I get an occasion clip and that's with the Gain all the way down! I have no headroom to work with for him. Uses the unit for addition chorus and reverb.

I've tried using the EQ on the channel at the board to turn down the mids and raise up the highs, and tried sending his channel through a (I believe) 14 band EQ built onto the board. Can clear him up a little down low, but then once he opens his mouth up it's all off and sounding terrible, being too high then with no depth.