Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Bass Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-23-2013, 12:58 AM   #1
Surfguitarist

Smile decent bass for a begginer?

I have been playing guitar now for 3 years.. and i want to learn bass. I have a tight budget, not any more than $300 dollars. this bass guitar i found at guitar center http://www.guitarcenter.com/Squier-...464-i1788090.gc i really like (i love the jag body and sunburst finish a LOT more than the standard squier affinity and it has better pickups, neck, and body) and im wondering if it would be good for the price of $200. Also this would leave me with $100 for an amp. any brands you would recommend for a bass amp (MINIMUM OF 50watts) for less than $100 (i will buy used) thanks
Surfguitarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 02:19 AM   #2
chatterbox272

VMs are very good basses to start on, and will last you for a long time without needing to be upgraded or replaced.
You should be looking for 100W minimum if possible, look for the brands Acoustic (especially if in the US), Ashdown (especially if in the UK), or Peavey. Behringer is a bit hit and miss, if it lasts past the first few months it'll last forever so check out used Behringers but their sound is a bit substandard and they're heavy as all hell.
Masquerade: #19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 09:33 AM   #3
Sudaka
Novice Bass Player