Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk > Singing & Vocals
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-23-2013, 11:50 AM   #1
sweetdude3000

Considering vocal lessons

Is it possible that many people can have a passable singing voice if trained properly? I have been a musician for many years (piano and in the past few years the guitar) so I understand music, except I have been told my voice was off key when I was younger and to not try.. so I just stopped singing thinking I have zero talent. I don't think the timbre of my voice is bad at all, I just don't know "how" to sing , i.e. what techniques to use. From my reading on here, it appears you can train yourself vocally.

I am considering lessons as a significant time & money investment. Any things to keep in mind for someone going about this for the first time? Like what can I reasonably expect? How long will it take to develop a decent voice (or is it out of reach)?
sweetdude3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 02:35 PM   #2
deoman420

you cant be taught how to sing, it comes from within. unless your one of them guys who sings into their chromatic tuners lol if you dont devote yourself you should expect to fail. but as long as you keep practicing you will improve. Good luck!
deoman420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 02:36 PM   #3
TheNameOfNoone
Buckethead's Right Hand

Definitely get some vocal lessons. I know many people who have awful voice but sound decent when singing because they went to the singing lessons.
I have always been a self-taught, and my voice sucks. (see one of my threads)

EDIT:
lol at the first two contradictory answers.

The image in my head is just too funny for words at this point

Aw yeah.

Last edited by TheNameOfNoone : 01-23-2013 at 02:37 PM.
TheNameOfNoone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:07 PM   #4
HotspurJr