Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-24-2013, 04:19 AM   #1
omeara17

connecting the fretboard questions

hey so i'm a pretty good guitar player but i'm trying to get to the next level. i learned a bunch of songs when i started playing then i just sort of started jamming and making up my own stuff using the notes in the songs that i learned. 90% of the time i'm just running through something based around a D scale or maybe a C scale and play with the capo a lot

so to get to the point, i've been listening to a lot of john mayer lately and i really like his style and the way he connects the fretboard if you know what i mean. how can i break out of my box and connect notes like he does
omeara17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:49 AM   #2
HotspurJr

The Guitar Fretboard Workbook.
HotspurJr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:06 PM   #3
cdgraves

Learn scales, chords, and arpeggios all over the fretboard. Practice scales from the lowest scale note to the highest on your guitar.

Really just making a point of using the whole fretboard is how you get the job done. Even and especially when it's difficult and uncomfortable. Find a little island of familiarity above the 12th fret and expand your comfort zone outward until it connects with what you already know.
cdgraves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:08 PM   #4
Myshadow46_2
Join the pack.

Knowing where all the notes are on the fretboard will help immensely. I'd start there.
Myshadow46_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 02:10 PM   #5
Fiskers1982

I use this site alot when trying to write. You can pick any key and I will show u a fretboard map up to the 12th fret and it also shows all the notes and chords of any key you choose.

http://songkeyfinder.com/
Fiskers1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 02:27 AM   #6
91RG350
At least Microsoft cared

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myshadow46_2