Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Songwriting & Lyrics > Songwriting & Lyrics Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-24-2013, 02:59 PM   #1
TommyGunn9999

Question Best Guitar for Songwriting??

Hi, I am primarily an electric guitarist but I own a couple dreadnaught acoustics (6 and 12 string). I am just getting into songwriting and wanted to know what kind of guitar you typically reach for when you get a burst of inspiration. I was thinking about buying a parlor size nylon string guitar so it's small, convenient, and quieter for those late night hours (I live in an apartment).

Thoughts, suggestions?

Thanks
TommyGunn9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 08:27 AM   #2
KidCanary

It doesn't make any difference.

Songwriting comes from your head, not your guitar. As long as you've got something that stays (relatively) in tune and is comfortable to play then you've got all you need.
KidCanary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 08:42 AM   #3
izzyvercetty
Rock 'n Rolla

Quote:
Originally Posted by KidCanary
It doesn't make any difference.

Songwriting comes from your head, not your guitar. As long as you've got something that stays (relatively) in tune and is comfortable to play then you've got all you need.

this

I normally write on acoustic, but it really depends. Sometime I get inspiration while practicing on my electric and build from there. Whatever guitar i happen to have near when i have an idea stuck in my head.
izzyvercetty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 07:09 PM   #4
azrael4h