Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Drums
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-25-2013, 12:28 AM   #1
Agent51

I'm in the Market for a Beginner Electronic Set; Recommendations?

So I'm not a drummer, I'm a guitarist of 16yrs, but I want to learn drums for my own musical projects. Be it "one man band" solo stuff or just writing music ideas at home for band projects. I can hold a basic drum beat, but I wouldn't say I can "play" the drums. When I mess around with our drummer's kit anything beyond the basic beats (or when trying them at punk rock tempo), I fail. I either tense up when trying to play fast, which throws everything off, or I "over think" when trying to play anything off-beat or with "flair" thrown in. I want to get a kit for home so I can invest the time to get comfortable playing an learning to do different beats with hands/feet without thinking of it, like I can with hands when playing guitar, and keeping time. Band practice is limited so I can't really teach myself drums while there lol.

So background aside, on to the point. The kit needs to be electronic for 2 reasons. First, and foremost, I live in an apartment, and one with thin walls at that, so sound travels. An acoustic kit is absolutely out of the question, not a chance in hell I'd ever get to play, the downstairs neighbor is older and home all the time. I work days so night is only time I can play, so aside from weekends, I'm usually playing guitar through headphones when at home. An electronic kit lets me do the same, practice in silence. And second, I want to be able to USB record right to my laptop.