Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > UG Community > The Pit
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 01-28-2013, 04:03 PM   #1
weebsy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
USA Wiring?

I bought an amp while visiting the US. I want to fit a UK plug on it, but the wiring clolours are different to UK.
UK is live = brown/red, neutral blue/black and earth green. The wires on the amp are black white and green.
Which is which?

Thanks for any advice.
weebsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 04:04 PM   #2
boreamor
^(^_^)^
 
boreamor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Keele University
boreamor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 04:09 PM   #3
Dempsey68
UG's John Mayer Fanatic
 
Dempsey68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wirral, UK
it surprises me how many people fail at using google.
Dempsey68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 04:52 PM   #4
weebsy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Christ on a bike guys! I only a question. What's with the bad vibes?
I'm off to get my screwdriver........
weebsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 04:56 PM   #5
Lemoninfluence
Masculist
 
Lemoninfluence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Liverpool, England
Will rewiring the plug work?

Aren't the voltages different in the US and UK?
__________________
Rhythm in Jump. Dancing Close to You.

Quote:
Originally Posted by element4433
Yeah. people, like Lemoninfluence, are hypocrites and should have all their opinions invalidated from here on out.
Lemoninfluence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:05 PM   #6
primusfan
Conspiracy Music Theorist
 
primusfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LOLville, KY
Quote:
Originally Posted by weebsy
Christ on a bike guys! I only a question. What's with the bad vibes?
I'm off to get my screwdriver........


i agree. people on here are mainly just angry losers in real life (myself included) so they have to talk down to people and make fun of them here because in other aspects of life they are the victim and this is their chance to be the aggressor.
__________________
#DTWD
primusfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:10 PM   #7
CrAzY-RiLeY
not french
 
CrAzY-RiLeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: france
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemoninfluence
Will rewiring the plug work?

Aren't the voltages different in the US and UK?


actually yes ( i did a 2 year electric course) and pretty sure US has something like the double of voltage, would watch out if i was you TS
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by WantsLesPaul
You are a sick man, Riley.
CrAzY-RiLeY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:10 PM   #8
ryan_nadon
ass brain
 
ryan_nadon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wyoming
Quote:
Originally Posted by primusfan
i agree. people on here are mainly just angry losers in real life (myself included) so they have to talk down to people and make fun of them here because in other aspects of life they are the victim and this is their chance to be the aggressor.

What the **** are you talking about.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeoneYouKnew
Your post was the only bright spot in this disgusting piece of thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexanirider78
You have balls. I like balls....(awkward silence)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeveralSpecies
I waited for the rape.

...


...but the rape never came
ryan_nadon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:13 PM   #9
weebsy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Voltage is no problem, it's the lead that goes into the power adaptor. It's one of those Yamaha THR10 amps.
weebsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:15 PM   #10
AtaBorMan
UG's reclusive wanker
 
AtaBorMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: A bookshop just off Russel Square
Oh, for fuck's sake. If you don't have enough knowledge about electrics to know that the UK uses 230 V and the US 110, you shouldn't be messing around with rewiring anything.

I though this was common knowledge. Have fun ruining your amp.

EDIT:
Quote:
Originally Posted by weebsy
Voltage is no problem, it's the lead that goes into the power adaptor. It's one of those Yamaha THR10 amps.


Well, does the adaptor say "Input 110 - 230 VAC"?

Also, why would you get such a shitty amp?
__________________
Call me Max.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd Hart
Shooting your friends with a real gun is a definite faux pas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mystical_1
Professor Plum in the Studio with a new Amp

Quote:
Originally Posted by snipelfritz
If only I were the only one at home right now. I don't need my parents asking who Mr. Wiggles is.

Last edited by AtaBorMan : 01-28-2013 at 05:17 PM.
AtaBorMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:16 PM   #11
Cianyx
dip i dip u dip dip i dip
 
Cianyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Absurdistan
I believe green is earth, black is live and white is neutral. I wouldn't know, I'm from Australia. There's also a wiki page for this
__________________
| ( ◡)| (❍ᴥ❍ʋ)
Cianyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:16 PM   #12
primusfan
Conspiracy Music Theorist
 
primusfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LOLville, KY
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan_nadon
What the **** are you talking about.


dude, you're from wyoming. it was over before it started.

but to answer your question, this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtaBorMan
Oh, for fuck's sake. If you don't have enough knowledge about electrics to know that the UK uses 230 V and the US 110, you shouldn't be messing around with rewiring anything.

I though this was common knowledge. Have fun ruining your amp.

EDIT:

Well, does the adaptor say "Input 110 - 230 VAC"?

Also, why would you get such a shitty amp?


..
__________________
#DTWD

Last edited by primusfan : 01-28-2013 at 05:19 PM.
primusfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:16 PM   #13
Jackal58
Pit Daddy
 
Jackal58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: If I was up your ass you'd know it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrAzY-RiLeY
actually yes ( i did a 2 year electric course) and pretty sure US has something like the double of voltage, would watch out if i was you TS

Redo your course
US 115vac 60hz
UK 220vac 50hz
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeoneYouKnew
You should be careful what you say. Some asshole will probably sig it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Axelfox
Yup, a girl went up to me in my fursuit one time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xiaoxi
I can fap to this. Keep going.
Jackal58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:45 PM   #14
HenryB
Registered User
 
HenryB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Essex, UK
__________________
My Current Gear
Gibson Les Paul Standard Faded (Cherry Burst) || Gibson Les Paul Junior (Vintage Sunburst)
Marshall 1987X and 1960AX || Weber Mass 100
Fulltone OCD pedal || Ibanez TS-9 tube screamer || Big Muff Pi with Tone Wicker || Boss AC2
HenryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:59 PM   #15
jthm_guitarist
"funny" but "unmemorable"
 
jthm_guitarist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: West Coast USA
Well... can I add to this conversation?
You will need a step down transformer as well as a converted socket. So I wouldn't go cutting up the lead and would head to the store.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrashtastic15
when you sense an attack slap the sack

show
jthm_guitarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 06:22 PM   #16
weebsy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
All done. One Washington bought Amp now happily working in Blighty!
Thanks for the helpful replies.
weebsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:17 PM   #17
AcousticMetal99
A walking oxymoron
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
UK - 230VAC
US - 110VAC
You will need a step-UP transformer, because the voltage is being increased. You should be able to find a suitable one.
AcousticMetal99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 06:27 AM   #18
CrAzY-RiLeY
not french
 
CrAzY-RiLeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: france
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackal58
Redo your course
US 115vac 60hz
UK 220vac 50hz


i was kicked off it for being a lazy stoner
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by WantsLesPaul
You are a sick man, Riley.
CrAzY-RiLeY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:13 AM   #19
cptcomet
Band
 
cptcomet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrAzY-RiLeY
actually yes ( i did a 2 year electric course) and pretty sure US has something like the double of voltage, would watch out if i was you TS


US has less than half the voltage, and it's not the voltage that kills you, it's the current.

Just get a step up transformer. Don't bother trying to wire a new plug.
__________________
455 75 34 88

(・ω・`)

Quote:
Originally Posted by strait jacket
Do you like being sigged or, like me do you feel strangely violated?
cptcomet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:46 AM   #20
So-Cal
UG Senior Member
 
So-Cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
To echo the sentiments in this thread you really shouldn't be ****ing around with wiring if you had to ask that question.
So-Cal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.