Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 01-30-2013, 04:44 AM   #1
AndyGray
UG Addict
 
AndyGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Shire
ISP Decimator

WOOOH! NGD!

Just got myself a used ISP Decimator g-string & I'm wondering where the best place to place it in my chain.

Is this the best place to put it? Or does it depend where I'm getting the most noise from?

Also, would the ISP not cut out some of the delays from my CC if placed after?

Guitar > Tuner > TS9 > ISP > Preamp > Effects Out > Carbon Copy > ISP G > Effects In
AndyGray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 06:31 AM   #2
CodeMonk
UG's Old Fart
 
CodeMonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Masturbating in your armpit
Guitar > Tuner > ISP IN - ISP Send > Dirt Pedals > ISP Return - ISP OUT > Other pedals.

See if ISP has the manual on their web site. It has that diagram in it.
__________________
Programming is an art form that fights back.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dementiacaptain
I'm sorry that we won't validate your decision, we give advice here, not good feelings
CodeMonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:48 AM   #3
thebestjoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Jersey
I have mine as wireless reciever into Isp Guitar in, then Guitar out into all effects, then that into decimator in, then decimator out right into my amp. Can't even tell that my amp is on when I'm not playing.
__________________
Ibanez
Universe UV777 Signed by Steve Vai
Prestige RG2027X with Bare Knuckle Aftermaths
RG7621 swirled
Prestige RG1420
AEL207E
thebestjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:24 AM   #4
AndyGray
UG Addict
 
AndyGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Shire
I suppose you're both using the ISP to reduce pickup noise, then reduce effects noise. I've never had any noise from my effects loop anyway, might be the best option.

Thanks fellas!
AndyGray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 12:44 PM   #5
AndyGray
UG Addict
 
AndyGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Shire
Right! Think I've cracked this. If anybody can confirm this is right because the amount of conflicting view online is uncanny.

Guitar > Tuner > ISP In > ISP Send > Overdrive/Distortion/Wah/Whatevz > ISP Return > ISP Out > Amp

It doesn't touch anything in the effects loop. The first input simply recognises the guitar is making a noise & opens the noise gate. The actually part of the chain which cuts the signal is the ISP return/out. Will try it tonight to 100% confirm. #Woot
AndyGray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 12:57 PM   #6
Tremolo Bum
Addicted to FR
 
Tremolo Bum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
What amp do you have? With most amps that signal chain you posted would be fine. There are a few ways to have it set up.

If you have a high gain amp that has some preamp hiss to it run it like this:

Guitar - ISP In - ISP Send - Pedals - Amp Input
Amp Effects send - ISP Return - ISP Out - Effects Return

It depends on your amp mostly.
__________________

Jackson RR3 Rhoads and DK2M Dinky
Peavey 6505+ w/ Avatar 212 cab
Ibanez TS9, ISP Decimator, MXR 10 Band EQ
-Digitech RP1000
Tremolo Bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 04:41 AM   #7
AndyGray
UG Addict
 
AndyGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Shire
I've got a Valveking which does have a fair amount of pre-amp hiss. It works better with the return/out in the FX loop. Cheers.
AndyGray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:47 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.