Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-31-2013, 05:13 AM   #1
Elaiena

Buying my first electric guitar.. plz help

I'm new to electric guitar and I need help. I'm thinking of purchasing a Fender standard strat. I need to know what things I should keep in mind while buying one. (Like, if the guitar is in perfect condition...) Also, will I need someone to set it up for me?
Elaiena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 05:57 AM   #2
miio

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/foru...d.php?t=1497696

Answer these and we'll be able to help you out more.
miio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:40 AM   #3
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl

^ agreed. anything you don't understand, just ask (we realise you're a new player and not all those terms will be known to you), but certainly things like your budget, location (closest country will do, as prices and availability vary), what type of music you want to play would help a lot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc8995
Rob Chappers would tell you he couldn't tell a cat from a dog if it would get him more hits on youtube.

Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 02:54 PM   #4
Silver Hilton
Old enough

The Fender strats are fine guitars to start out on. You can readily find them used. The code words you are looking for in the ad are "Made in Mexico". The made in America versions are substantially more expensive, and differ in ways that won't matter to a beginner. The differences are primarily in the quality of the stuff that is bolted on: the tuners, the tailpiece, and the pickups. All of these can be upgraded easily if you like, but the basic guitar will be fine to learn on and figure out if you like it. If you give up or upgrade, the guitar will be salable for close to what you paid for it.