Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 02-03-2013, 02:50 AM   #1
lightningjoe88
Registered User
 
lightningjoe88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SLO
Question 2 Amp heads to one cab?

Hey everyone,
So my most recent purchase was a vintage Marshall JCM800 1960 4x12 cabinet with Celestion 75s in it (for $300!) and it rocks with my Marshall head. Unlike other cabinets I've owned, the Marshall cab only has one input for one head to plug into. Would there be a way I can split that and plug 2 heads (If I bought another) into the cabinet and A/B the heads with a pedal, or would I just have to buy another cabinet for that and plug the other head into that? Thanks

- Joe
__________________
09 Gibson Firebird Studio w/ vintage SDs > Korg Pitchblack Tuner > Xotic SP Comp > Russian EHX Big Muff Pi > EHX Soul Food > TC Electronic Nova Delay > BBE Sonic Stomp > ADA Flanger > Koch Multitone > Avatar Contemporary 2x12 w/ Celestion Creambacks
lightningjoe88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 03:03 AM   #2
Oldmonkeys
- Also known as Matt
 
Oldmonkeys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canberra, Australia
this will do exactly what you want

http://www.tonebone.com/tb-headbone-vt.htm
__________________

Gretsch Setzer Hot Rod
Gretsch Power Jet
Fender Tele
Wizard Modern Classic
Vox Lil' Night Train
Hame 2x12



[- "Uncool Aussie" of the Pedalboard Thread -]
Oldmonkeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 03:07 AM   #3
lightningjoe88
Registered User
 
lightningjoe88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SLO
Thanks a ton for your help brother
__________________
09 Gibson Firebird Studio w/ vintage SDs > Korg Pitchblack Tuner > Xotic SP Comp > Russian EHX Big Muff Pi > EHX Soul Food > TC Electronic Nova Delay > BBE Sonic Stomp > ADA Flanger > Koch Multitone > Avatar Contemporary 2x12 w/ Celestion Creambacks
lightningjoe88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 04:16 AM   #4
jetwash69
Registered User
 
jetwash69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Or if you don't mind modding it, you can re-wire it like the modern cabs to make it stereo. Then run one head through the left speakers and the other through the right.

That'll be a lot cheaper, but wouldn't be an option if you want to keep the cab original.
jetwash69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 04:27 AM   #5
ChrisBW
Registered User
 
ChrisBW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I would just rewire the cab to run stereo with an A/B switch. Since the Headbone isn't a loadbox, you can't run delay in the effects loop though. Anything that's still sending a signal in the effects loop (directly into the power amp) when you switch isn't going to be a good idea, you'll mess up the Headbone, your amp, or both. I think you could make sure everything is off before you switch? The manual says don't use anything in the FX loop though. I'm not sure all the details but when I was looking into one I just screw it and saved myself the money.

That said, if you don't use anything in your FX loop, go for it. I just think that thing is way expensive when you could simply rewire your speakers.
__________________
I have a huge fear if rays.
ChrisBW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:04 AM   #6
Reincaster
Call me Rein.
 
Reincaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisBW
I would just rewire the cab to run stereo with an A/B switch. Since the Headbone isn't a loadbox, you can't run delay in the effects loop though. Anything that's still sending a signal in the effects loop (directly into the power amp) when you switch isn't going to be a good idea, you'll mess up the Headbone, your amp, or both. I think you could make sure everything is off before you switch? The manual says don't use anything in the FX loop though. I'm not sure all the details but when I was looking into one I just screw it and saved myself the money.

That said, if you don't use anything in your FX loop, go for it. I just think that thing is way expensive when you could simply rewire your speakers.


The headbone is a loadbox.
__________________
Peavey 5150
Mesa Mark IV
Mesa Single Rectifier (Series 1)
Fender Custom Shop Tonemaster
Roland Microcube

-Whitebox OS 1x12
-Port City OS 1x12

Digidesign Eleven RackAxe Fx Ultra
Reincaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 12:07 PM   #7
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reincaster
The headbone is a loadbox.


+1

Quote:
Originally Posted by LinkAbove
Hit the footswitch and the Headbone toggles the guitar signal from one amp to the other, disconnects the speaker and diverts the signal to a load resister, reconnects the speaker to the second head and turns on the guitar, all in quick succession. The Headbone features SafeMode™ whereby even when power is disconnected; the Headbone will automatically default to 'head-1 to cabinet' status, ensuring a constant load on the amplifier.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:59 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.