Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 02-03-2013, 03:41 PM   #1
CaptainFantasy

Basic Tuning Question

I've been playing guitar for three years and never really tuned on my own (ok a few times). Either had my guitar teacher or friend do it for me.

Last time I came in to play with my friend, I had tried tuning it myself (and the tuner said it was in tune) and my friend said "whoa, this is two octaves off." It did sound wrong, but the tuner said it was right!

So my question is, how can you tell if it's tuned to the right octave or whatever (whatever regular tuning is)? Because apparently the tuner tells you if it's EADGBE, but not if it's the right one (or my tuner doesn't).
CaptainFantasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 03:49 PM   #2
Fumble fingers

what kind of tuner do you have ??...

I have 2 different ones Sabine stx-110 and a Snark , just got my grandson a Snark (wich I like a lot ) but he was tuning some strings sharp and others flat , on the Snark you have to watch for the sharp and flat symbols or it will mess you up , wonder if thats whats happening to you ??
Fumble fingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 03:50 PM   #3
CaptainFantasy

a really shitty one that came with a squier guitar. What tuner do you recommend?
Old 02-03-2013, 03:53 PM   #4
Fumble fingers

Snarks are 20.00 usa and I like it best , just have to watch the symbols along with the letter
Fumble fingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 04:58 PM   #5
randomhero93
Refined Knowledge

The tuner will tell you what note it's registering. but they won't generally tell you what octave you're at unless you have a really hi-tech one. you just gotta use common sense when it comes to getting in the right area for standard tuning.