Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 02-06-2013, 03:36 PM   #1
therapture
guitar demon

Musical Slump

Here's the deal. I've been playing for about 7 years now and have come quite a long way from there. I know most techniques and can keep myself in key most of the time. I'm able to compose songs but now that I want to focus more on leads and soloing I'm at a standstill. I can do the monotonous scale climbs and hammering/pull offs etc, but I want to get a better grasp at theories for soloing and more advanced techniques to build my speed and finger strength. Where do I start?
therapture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 05:19 PM   #2
Bazz22

Playing along to backing tracks really helps me with improvisation, which in turn, helps me think of creative leads.

I guess, the simplest way, is to learn solos that you like the sound of, and go from there.
Bazz22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 07:44 PM   #3
Zaphod_Beeblebr
Shallow and pedantic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by therapture
Here's the deal. I've been playing for about 7 years now and have come quite a long way from there. I know most techniques and can keep myself in key most of the time. I'm able to compose songs but now that I want to focus more on leads and soloing I'm at a standstill. I can do the monotonous scale climbs and hammering/pull offs etc, but I want to get a better grasp at theories for soloing and more advanced techniques to build my speed and finger strength. Where do I start?

You start by listening and thinking. You have to stop letting your fingers run over patterns you know and actually think about the music you want to make.
Old 02-08-2013, 08:45 AM   #4
Shornifier
Shornifier

Take a break. Seriously. Best cure for slump is do something else you like and don't touch your guitar for a while until you really miss it and have that motivation to learn again.
Old 02-08-2013, 08:48 AM   #5
Jehannum