Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 02-06-2013, 04:04 PM   #1
57Goldtop
Piano Player in Disguise
 
57Goldtop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: On a barstool
Marshall DSL100 Head - suddenly no sound

Hey! I'm hoping I can get some help with a problem I'm having. Last night I was playing through my Marshall DSL100 head for about 5 minutes. I had to go take care of something so I put the amp on standby for about 15 minutes. When I came back I flipped it off standby and started to play, but all of a sudden I had NO sound. It had been working fine just a moment ago.

I have power to the amp. It turns on like normal and all the tubes appear to be glowing as usual. I flipped through the two channels on the amp but still no sound. I turned the volume all the way up and tapped on the end of my guitar cable, no buzz or static or anything.

I had only been playing for a few minutes when this happened. I tried it again today and Iím still getting no sound. Any ideas what might be wrong??

EDIT: I would like to see if the problem is my speaker cable but I don't have a spare one lying around. I realize it's bad to run a speaker cab with a guitar cable. But would I do any damage to my amp if I ran it like that for just a few seconds to see if I can get any sound? Just to rule out my speaker cable as the potential problem?
__________________
Current Gear:
1966 Gibson ES330
MIM Standard Strat with USA guts
Ovation IDea
Mesa Boogie Maverick 4x10

Last edited by 57Goldtop : 02-06-2013 at 04:28 PM.
57Goldtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:03 PM   #2
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
Did you check the HT fuse?

Yes you can use a guitar cable for a quick test.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.

Last edited by R45VT : 02-06-2013 at 05:05 PM.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:00 PM   #3
57Goldtop
Piano Player in Disguise
 
57Goldtop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: On a barstool
Quote:
Originally Posted by R45VT
Did you check the HT fuse?

Yes you can use a guitar cable for a quick test.

Ok, I ran a guitar cable there for a couple seconds but still no sound. At least that's one thing I can cross off the suspect list.

I just pulled out the HT fuse. It looks fine but from my understanding that doesn't actually mean it's not blown, right? I'll try to run out and grab a few replacement fuses tonight. Hopefully that helps.

So if it turns out that it was the HT fuse, is that something that just happens sometimes? Or is that a sign that something bigger is wrong with the amp? And is there any reason that would happen with flipping the amp on standby for a few minutes, or was that just total coincidence?
__________________
Current Gear:
1966 Gibson ES330
MIM Standard Strat with USA guts
Ovation IDea
Mesa Boogie Maverick 4x10
57Goldtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:52 PM   #4
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
A blown HT fuse normally means that a power tube has shit itself. When you flip the standby switch it turns on the HT supply so it is indicative of the same thing. Don't you own a multimeter? You can buy something good enough to test a fuse for under $20 these days. There's really no excuse not to have one any more.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:20 PM   #5
57Goldtop
Piano Player in Disguise
 
57Goldtop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: On a barstool
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
A blown HT fuse normally means that a power tube has shit itself. When you flip the standby switch it turns on the HT supply so it is indicative of the same thing. Don't you own a multimeter? You can buy something good enough to test a fuse for under $20 these days. There's really no excuse not to have one any more.

Hey Cath... me not owning a multimeter has nothing to do with the cost of one. It has everything to do with me not knowing what the hell I'm doing with one, lol! I've actually been interested in learning more about working with/on amps. I've been modding my own guitars for a while now and I like working on that kind of stuff. But the whole "lethal dosage of current" thing with amplifiers has kept my curiosity in check so far
__________________
Current Gear:
1966 Gibson ES330
MIM Standard Strat with USA guts
Ovation IDea
Mesa Boogie Maverick 4x10
57Goldtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:27 PM   #6
H4T3BR33D3R
UG's Poison Mist
 
H4T3BR33D3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The laaaaaaand of the rising sun
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57Goldtop
Hey Cath... me not owning a multimeter has nothing to do with the cost of one. It has everything to do with me not knowing what the hell I'm doing with one, lol! I've actually been interested in learning more about working with/on amps. I've been modding my own guitars for a while now and I like working on that kind of stuff. But the whole "lethal dosage of current" thing with amplifiers has kept my curiosity in check so far



All you need to do to avoid shocking yourself is to discharge the caps. You can do that by putting the amp in the on position when it's not plugged in IIRC.



Actually, it's probably not true and I'm not remembering correctly. Just disregard this
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by eGraham
I'm not artsy at all. At least not in the visual sense.

But, I did just eat some pizza so I am quite fartsy




Quote:
Originally Posted by Axelfox
Dude i like rap and stuff. Im a furry and I also have a wolf plush with a hole that i use at times.


Only at times, though.

Last edited by H4T3BR33D3R : 02-06-2013 at 07:34 PM.
H4T3BR33D3R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:09 PM   #7
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
A blown HT fuse normally means that a power tube has shit itself. When you flip the standby switch it turns on the HT supply so it is indicative of the same thing. Don't you own a multimeter? You can buy something good enough to test a fuse for under $20 these days. There's really no excuse not to have one any more.

x2. New tubes and a new fuse.

There are PLENTY of tutorials of how to bias Marshall's...

Be safe- no need to discharge unless you are planning to work on the board.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.

Last edited by R45VT : 02-06-2013 at 08:22 PM.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:41 PM   #8
57Goldtop
Piano Player in Disguise
 
57Goldtop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: On a barstool
Quote:
Originally Posted by R45VT
x2. New tubes and a new fuse.

There are PLENTY of tutorials of how to bias Marshall's...

Be safe- no need to discharge unless you are planning to work on the board.

Ok, I'll go this route. I like to do my own work whenever possible so I'll check out some tutorials on biasing. At first I was pissed because I was thinking the amp had newer tubes in it (done by the previous owner). But now that I think about it they're probably coming up on about a year of use. Time flies...
__________________
Current Gear:
1966 Gibson ES330
MIM Standard Strat with USA guts
Ovation IDea
Mesa Boogie Maverick 4x10
57Goldtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:08 PM   #9
DeadlyIllness
UG Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
You checked the cables right, and any of the jacks?
DeadlyIllness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:23 PM   #10
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57Goldtop
Ok, I'll go this route. I like to do my own work whenever possible so I'll check out some tutorials on biasing. At first I was pissed because I was thinking the amp had newer tubes in it (done by the previous owner). But now that I think about it they're probably coming up on about a year of use. Time flies...


Shit- DSLs are super easy. You just need a voltmeter - there are 2 trim pots for left and right pair. Very easy
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:35 PM   #11
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
Is this the JCM2000 DSL?
I have the DSL100 and I had a cap go in the powersection and it took out 1 of my tubes. My brotherinlaw fixed my amp, but if I would have payed, it would have been $250 ish plus tubes.
He had to jump a few traces to get it working right

Trust me never use anything but SED =C= tubes in it the plate voltage is stupid and the =C= is the only tubes that will last
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:52 PM   #12
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbgnarly
Is this the JCM2000 DSL?
I have the DSL100 and I had a cap go in the powersection and it took out 1 of my tubes. My brotherinlaw fixed my amp, but if I would have payed, it would have been $250 ish plus tubes.
He had to jump a few traces to get it working right

Trust me never use anything but SED =C= tubes in it the plate voltage is stupid and the =C= is the only tubes that will last


eh? Seriously- as many cheap mother ****ers as there are I think we would see more problems if SED =C= was the only way to go. There are built like tanks for sure but JJs would do just fine with the plate voltage. I would wonder what the caps are rated at before questioning tube manufacturers.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:58 PM   #13
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
Now that I am home.... lets clarify this TS- was the HT fuse bad?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 10:02 PM   #14
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by R45VT
eh? Seriously- as many cheap mother ****ers as there are I think we would see more problems if SED =C= was the only way to go. There are built like tanks for sure but JJs would do just fine with the plate voltage. I would wonder what the caps are rated at before questioning tube manufacturers.

Actually Marshall shipped the JCM2000 with SED =C= from the factory that should speak for it's self
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 10:22 PM   #15
qvplite
UG Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
This is my usual procedure when an amp stops making noise:

1 - Check Fuse; if ok move to step 2.
2 - Swap Tubes for Known Good Ones; if still no sound move to step 3.
3 - Take to Shop for Repair

A good tech will usually require a $50-100 deposit and include that amount in the price of the repair including labor and parts. If you're in San Diego I can recommend a couple people; otherwise you'll have to ask around.
qvplite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 10:53 PM   #16
57Goldtop
Piano Player in Disguise
 
57Goldtop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: On a barstool
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlyIllness
You checked the cables right, and any of the jacks?
Yeah, I used a simple continuity tester to confirm that I have power at every jack and cable. Everything appears to be working fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by R45VT
Now that I am home.... lets clarify this TS- was the HT fuse bad?
Yeah the HT fuse is blown. I wasn't able to tell at first but under a magnifying glass I could clearly see a break in the filament.

So any recommendations on replacement tubes (other than the SED =C= as mentioned)? The previous owner was going for a more aggressive/modern tone when he replaced the tubes the last time. I'd actually like to get more of a vintage tone out of the amp if possible. I don't want to spend an arm and a leg though.
__________________
Current Gear:
1966 Gibson ES330
MIM Standard Strat with USA guts
Ovation IDea
Mesa Boogie Maverick 4x10
57Goldtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 12:07 AM   #17
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
SED =C= is probably about the best quality modern production tube you can get.

JJ's are best value.


That being said power tubes don't change tone all that much. It's the preamp tubes that have an impact.



Robb thinks SED are the only way to go- he has a DSL 100. I personally have never the only SED. They are $$$ where JJs are $$.

I like tube depot for my tubes. Great prices and selection.

Have you found a tube biasing tutorial yet?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.

Last edited by R45VT : 02-07-2013 at 12:10 AM.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 08:21 AM   #18
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by R45VT
SED =C= is probably about the best quality modern production tube you can get.

JJ's are best value.


That being said power tubes don't change tone all that much. It's the preamp tubes that have an impact.



Robb thinks SED are the only way to go- he has a DSL 100. I personally have never the only SED. They are $$$ where JJs are $$.

I like tube depot for my tubes. Great prices and selection.

Have you found a tube biasing tutorial yet?

I do agree with R45VT you do not need SED=C= tubes, but they are the best. JJ have good tubes and they are reasonable in price.

The 6Ca7 is soposed to be nice in Marshall amps
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:09 AM   #19
57Goldtop
Piano Player in Disguise
 
57Goldtop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: On a barstool
Cool, thanks for the advice. I'm not gigging heavily so I'm not looking for the "best" tubes out there. I'm more concerned with overall bang for the buck. JJ's sound like a good choice for me.

So, would it be worth it for me to pick up a set of new preamp tubes too? I know, if it ain't broke don't fix it... but I'm not the original owner and I don't know the full history of the amp. Might be nice to start over with a clean slate.

Any decent-priced preamp tubes out there for more of a vintage tone - classic rock / bluesy rock?
__________________
Current Gear:
1966 Gibson ES330
MIM Standard Strat with USA guts
Ovation IDea
Mesa Boogie Maverick 4x10
57Goldtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:38 AM   #20
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
JJ ecc83
(New)Mullard 12ax7
NOS JAN-Philips/GE 5751 (this is great for the PI and V1 to tame the gain)
JJ Ecc803 (this is great in V1 to lower the gain)
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:27 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.