Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 02-06-2013, 06:59 PM   #1
proto77

My Second Guitar Epiphone Les Paul vs. Ibanez RG4EXFM1

I've been playing since mid August of 2012, and from what I've been told by my friends who have five or more years experience, I have been progressing fairly quickly. I like to play anything from bluesy stuff to heavy metal. Someone whose I opinion I respect very much told me to look at used Epi LPs for a second guitar. While I love everything about these instruments, I may have come across a deal on an Ibanez RG4EXFM1 that is in great condition (this guitar also plays very well for me.) Should I keep looking for a nice Les Paul or should I jump on the opportunity to get this Ibanez? Thank you for your help and I apologize if my writing is sub par this time around as I wanted to write this quickly.
proto77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:07 PM   #2
T00DEEPBLUE
Edits posts like a boss

They're far too different to compare.

(・ω・`)
T00DEEPBLUE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:39 PM   #3
MG_Sora
UG's Industrial Designer

I'd get the Ibanez. IMHO, the neck joint is way better for soloing, and the neck feels faster overall (due to the finish).

However, try not to get caught in a Gear Acquisition Syndrome. It's possible that once you buy a new guitar, you'll want to keep buying gear just because you think you need it, but keep in mind that you've been playing for less than a year. So try and remember that a new guitar is only as good as your technique. Just my two cents.

Edit: Also, keep in mind that the Ibanez has a floating bridge, which could be a little of a drawback if you change your tuning a lot. In general, it can be a bit of a pain in the ass if you are not entirely aware of the way it works.

Disregard that comment if you have experience with floating bridges.

Last edited by MG_Sora : 02-06-2013 at 07:48 PM.