Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 02-06-2013, 07:07 PM   #1
LazorFace

UK Looking for a tube amp for home-use.

Hi, my name is Erwin and I am looking for my next amp. I've been playing the guitar for about three years now, so I am not looking for somekind of boutique/high-end amp, though I do think im ready to go for tubes. Lovely, lovely tube...

The pricerange I am looking for varies because I'm still saving, but I'm thinking about 300-800, with an absolute maximum of 1000. That is for both a head and a cab.

I play a MIM standard strat with single-coils. I love me some neck pickup on a strat. So I guess the amp in question has to sound good with strats.

The amp I am looking for has good clean and nice low to medium overdrive, I'm not really into high gain, unless fuzz falls under high gain. In that case I do like it

If I had to choose I would choose tone quality over versatility. Because I'm thinking that effects will give me the versatility I need, wich is not much since I have a pretty narrow taste. (I know, narrow taste isn't good for one's musical experience)

The guitarists tone I would like to emulate would probably be Hendrix or Frusciante, so I'm guessing a marshall-esque british tube amp with some effects to finish it up would be the way to go.

Though I do use effects i have no preference of fx-loop over no fx-loop. And I think I don't need a two channel amp because I boost with my tubescreamer.

EDIT: Since I use a looper, I would like an FX loop for that, so it can record the amp and not the signal.

I play and practice at home most of the time, and I guess I play at normal ear-durable volume there, no whisper levels but no cranked levels either. Also I jam with friends and then it has to be able to meet the volume of the drums.