Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > UG Community > The Pit
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 02-15-2013, 10:01 PM   #21
WCPhils
^^vv<><>BAStart
 
WCPhils's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacknoise
You're 60-70 feet away from your router? How ****ing big is your house?

That's not that far....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolmnt
95% of teens have moved on to hip hop. Put this in your sig if you're part of th 5% who care about REAL music.




Check out my...

YouTube
WCPhils is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 10:11 PM   #22
beefcake122
no fun.
 
beefcake122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sunnyvale Trailer Park
Quote:
Originally Posted by WCPhils
That's not that far....

going through walls/floor weakens the signal though
__________________
sunbather is shit
beefcake122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 10:48 PM   #23
Laimbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Having better Wifi signal won't increase the speed on your internet. Your youtube videos take a long time to load because the speed your paying for from your ISP is slow. Wifi is pretty much on or off. As long as you get a connection you get full speed, but if your only getting 1-2 bars it could be dropping out. If your router is older is could be 802.11g which has significantly less range than a new 802.11n model. Or you could try an higher gain antenna if your router has a removable one. Or a range extender can work.
Laimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 10:49 PM   #24
muffinduck01
UG's BBW Lover
 
muffinduck01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Extra Ordinary
Is that slow or fast? Mine says 144Mbps and it's fine, but I don't even know how to check or if I'm even looking at the right thing.

It's fast for a real world test. I was just quoting my download speeds in Steam really.

As for that speed quote up there, that's in megaBITS. not megaBYTES which is what I was measuring my speed in. ISPs advertise their speeds in megabits because they have an 8:1 ratio (Meaning they make their speeds look 8 times faster then they really are.)

Use http://speedtest.net/ to find out your real internet speed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MakinLattes
I'd kill you and wear your skin.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siv During Livh
To attempt to have intercourse with a hornet's nest is a very bad idea,

Voted UG's worst cross dresser.
Also voted #95 on UG's Top 100 2013. Like it means anything....
muffinduck01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 10:52 PM   #25
captainsnazz
no
 
captainsnazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: yorkshire
lol at you guys complaining about your internet speed. I get <10kbps fo srs
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by lemmyisgod97
Anyone who needs a degree to think their good isn't doing music right, it's like taking a class in being funny.

Ego Sig
captainsnazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 10:55 PM   #26
Extra Ordinary
Meh
 
Extra Ordinary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by muffinduck01
It's fast for a real world test. I was just quoting my download speeds in Steam really.

As for that speed quote up there, that's in megaBITS. not megaBYTES which is what I was measuring my speed in. ISPs advertise their speeds in megabits because they have an 8:1 ratio (Meaning they make their speeds look 8 times faster then they really are.)

Use http://speedtest.net/ to find out your real internet speed.

Damn and I thought I was special.
Extra Ordinary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 11:35 PM   #27
Dirge Humani
Tyler
 
Dirge Humani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: EXPLOSION
Put an aluminum foil dish shaped object behind the router so that it will reflect in the direction of your room.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axelfox
One time another student sat at my seat in school and i tried to tell the teacher that it was my seat, but the teacher allowed it to happen.

Yeah, i had a very interesting childhood.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seref
You can see the individual pores on Lara's titty skin.
Dirge Humani is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:06 AM   #28
zdh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
You can try going into your router settings to see if you can increase the signal output.
zdh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:10 AM   #29
stratman_13
little kicks
 
stratman_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 6, 1, 5, Oh, I forget.
Get on my level.



.

Get a router.
__________________
--

Who would choose to be alone, imprisoned by their broken memories?

--
stratman_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:29 AM   #30
Whizzo
All-knowing Mighty Moth!
 
Whizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: UK
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Huawei-WS32...60988753&sr=8-1

This. You can probably find one cheaper if you wanted to.
__________________
Anything unrelated to elephants is irrelephant.
Whizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:30 AM   #31
Danjo's Guitar
UG's Math/Physics Major
 
Danjo's Guitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Socorro, NM (aka New Mexico Tech)
At home my parents still have dial-up. Its technically 65kbps, but downloading or uploading I can never get more than 5kbps, haha. (I don't know if its kBps or kbps.)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trowzaa
what specs is your pc? like how much ram?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hydra150


Quote:
Originally Posted by eGraham
3 ram, nice

Danjo's Guitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 02:02 AM   #32
thenextkirk92
We're Here
 
thenextkirk92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: A Farm, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danjo's Guitar
At home my parents still have dial-up. Its technically 65kbps, but downloading or uploading I can never get more than 5kbps, haha. (I don't know if its kBps or kbps.)


65KiloBITS per second not kilobytes. 5 kilobytes is normal for dialup.
thenextkirk92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 03:57 AM   #33
Deliriumbassist
UG's only DB
 
Deliriumbassist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Presidential Palace
Use a set of network homeplugs. One plugs into your router and the mains, the other plugs into the mains in your room and your laptop. Cue wired connection over your mains wiring. I use three for my Mac, my TV and my PS3, it's brilliant.
__________________
YES! YES! YES!

Deliriumbassist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:09 AM   #34
Rawshik
Homophobic Racist
 
Rawshik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stratman_13
Get on my level.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2511868977.png

.

Get a router.






You know how you can pay more for better connection from your ISP? That might be worth looking into. Seriously, ever since we did that I've had 100% perfect internet.
__________________
For how can I give the King his place of worth above all else
when I spend my time striving to place the crown upon myself?
Rawshik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:31 AM   #35
kertets
Banned
 
kertets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: On the toilet.
Just turn your internet off and go buy a porno mag. Old school.
kertets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 05:01 AM   #36
stratman_13
little kicks
 
stratman_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 6, 1, 5, Oh, I forget.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawshik
You know how you can pay more for better connection from your ISP? That might be worth looking into. Seriously, ever since we did that I've had 100% perfect internet.

I live in literally the middle of nowhere. Took us six months a while back just to get DSL through Verizon.

The big housing developments around here have decent internet (usually ~5-10Mbps), but as for the small neighborhoods that are kinda just off the beaten path (like mine) we pretty much get ****ed over because they can't make enough money to justify running the lines.

So I have to deal with it until I move out or King William decides to urbanize. Which will never happen.
__________________
--

Who would choose to be alone, imprisoned by their broken memories?

--
stratman_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:16 AM   #37
guitarmaniac88
Procrastinate & Dominate!
 
guitarmaniac88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Arkansas


This is just awful. I swear my parents are cheapskates and they have plenty of money not to be.
__________________
Save a trip to the RT!
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake1221
If there's anything to take away from this thread, anything at all, it's to always cup the balls.


Top trolling abilities.

Quote:
Originally Posted by caeser1156
God dammit you had me 10/10

Last edited by guitarmaniac88 : 02-18-2013 at 11:17 AM.
guitarmaniac88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:30 AM   #38
eGraham
Logjammin'
 
eGraham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cutting off your Johnson
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshua Garcia
Actually, yes. Yes we do. =/

My mom has Time Warner cable internet, and there's never been an issue with connectivity. She bought a new router recently and can't set it up right, but that's not their fault.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trowzaa
I wish I was American.




October 23, 2014
eGraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:36 AM   #39
ProphetToJables
Tight Tight Tight
 
ProphetToJables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Telford
Why don't you pay for the internet yourself Guitarmaniac?
__________________
Gear:

Gibson 2005 Les Paul Standard
Fender Road Worn Strat w/ Noiseless pickups
Marshall JCM 2000 401C
Marshall Vintage Modern 2266
Marshall 1960A cab (Dave Hill from Slade's old cab)
Ibanez TS9DX
EHX Little Big Muff
Freshman Acoustic
ProphetToJables is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 11:49 PM   #40
guitarmaniac88
Procrastinate & Dominate!
 
guitarmaniac88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Arkansas
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProphetToJables
Why don't you pay for the internet yourself Guitarmaniac?



No job, I've been looking, applied to some places, but it's unlikely anyone will be hiring until spring where the tourists actually feel like coming to town. Hopefully I'll get a job at the diamond mine, I've already turned in an application, tourists will probably come to dig for diamonds starting around spring break. Small town Arkansas is a hard place to find a job at, this town would be dead without the diamond mine and the Indian Village.

I would totally help pay a little for faster internet, but I still need to do some major saving. I want to have my own place during my short time at college, and I'll need a job for that, hopefully I'll get quite a bit of excess scholarship money back to help too.
__________________
Save a trip to the RT!
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake1221
If there's anything to take away from this thread, anything at all, it's to always cup the balls.


Top trolling abilities.

Quote:
Originally Posted by caeser1156
God dammit you had me 10/10
guitarmaniac88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.