Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 02-17-2013, 05:36 AM   #1
Thieves

Cool First Electric Guitar

Hello,

I'm currently looking to purchase my first electric guitar. I have no music related experience, although I've always wanted to be able to play an instrument.

My favourite guitarists and/or bands would be Johnny Marr from The Smiths and Bernard Sumner from Joy Division/New Order.

I have a budget of around $1500 AUD (though, not just for the guitar) and what I've been considering is a MiA Fender Telecaster. Well, that or a Strat.

Is there such things as a "bad" guitar for a beginner? And am I putting too much in for my first guitar?

Thanks
Thieves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 05:48 AM   #2
StrykVladzimsky
ESP through Potato

Hey man, welcome aboard!

It's great that you have that kind of a budget for gear starting out.You really couldn't go wrong with an American Strat or Tele. Are you willing to go used?

StrykVladzimsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 05:50 AM   #3
Mephaphil
No empty frets.

If you're serious about playing then no, that's a great amount to spend. Just make sure you keep it up!

You'll need an amp. The amp is very important as your guitar will sound very poor with a rubbish one. You should really be looking to spend a 1/3 of your budget on the amp.

Jonny Marr is famous for his Jaguar. You could get a MiM Jaguar, I'm not sure about price. Used might be a better option. I know you guys get everything expensive so if they are too expensive I would suggest this as a guitar/amp option.

Mexican Fender Strat or Telecaster.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/FENDER-TE...=item3a7e3c225a

Or

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Fender-St...=item2c6c5493ef

With your budget you should be getting a tube/valve amp. They are the best and most vintage sounding amps. Something like a used Laney VC50 or MARSHALL DSL401.