Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Gear Building & Customizing
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 02-18-2013, 05:29 AM   #1
MetalSlvg

H/S/S 5way switching help

Hello everyone.

I'm planning to do some changes to my strat. At present I have a H/H wired pick guard but the plan is to swap that out for an H/S/S.

I've been looking at how to wire a 5-way switch and I understand the basics. I also think I know the answer to this question before I ask it, but as I'm still learning I reckon I'm best asking anyway because some crazy person out there might have worked out a way to wire it.

Question is:

Is there any way to wire the 5-way selector to be:

1) Neck
2) Neck + Middle
3) Middle + Hum Slug
4) Humbucker
5) Hum Screw + Neck

I don't see any way it would work, but as I said, there are some mad scientists out there!

Thanks in advance for any help.
MetalSlvg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 05:37 AM   #2
ProphetToJables
Tight Tight Tight

My guess is you would probably have to have another independant switch for the humbucker.

Gibson 2005 Les Paul Standard
Fender Road Worn Strat w/ Noiseless pickups
Marshall JCM 2000 401C
Marshall Vintage Modern 2266
Marshall 1960A cab (Dave Hill from Slade's old cab)
Ibanez TS9DX
EHX Little Big Muff
Freshman Acoustic
ProphetToJables is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 05:44 AM   #3
MetalSlvg

I guess I could always trade out the 5-way for 3 toggle switches and have one each for neck and mid and have a 3 throw switch for toggling different coils on the humbucker and middle position for full humbucker.
Old 02-18-2013, 10:39 AM   #4
stonyman65
Unregistered User

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalSlvg
I guess I could always trade out the 5-way for 3 toggle switches and have one each for neck and mid and have a 3 throw switch for toggling different coils on the humbucker and middle position for full humbucker.