Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 02-28-2013, 01:13 AM   #1
Bladed-Vaults
Broceidon king of Brocean
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Recording with the Egnater vengeance record out feature??????

Ok so Im very used to using a mic'd cab into my audio interface and recording stuff.

but now that im on a graveyard schedule I cant be playing and waking up the world

My vengeance has a record line out that uses a mic cable so i can hook straight into my ProFire interface but when i try this it sounds like sin. very very low volume and tone from the 1920's

ive read you need to run cab impulses to get anywhere from a set up like this?
What the balls are cab impulses (noob question im sure)

is this correct?

are there better ways to do this?

btw my recording software is PreSonus studio one.
Bladed-Vaults is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:19 AM   #2
cdr_salamander
or simply Nick
 
cdr_salamander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Plano, TX
You are still running the amp with a cab or load box right? If not, you will damage it. The Vengeance does not have a record-out-only feature like the Rebel series.

Also, as far as the volume issues, make sure you are running your interface input as instrument-level and not line-level.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunning~Kruger
Yes I was rude, and I was aggressive and I was offending a large group of people. But I was civlized about it.

'10 Gibson Firebird V
Marshall SL5
cdr_salamander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:30 AM   #3
Bladed-Vaults
Broceidon king of Brocean
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
what do you mean the vengeance doesnt have a record out only feature..... im staring right at it
Bladed-Vaults is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:32 AM   #4
cdr_salamander
or simply Nick
 
cdr_salamander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Plano, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bladed-Vaults
what do you mean the vengeance doesnt have a record out only feature..... im staring right at it

You are looking at the record line out. What I meant was a "silent record out" where you can play through the amp without having cab. It does not support that. You will destroy your amp if you don't have it running through a cab or a load box.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunning~Kruger
Yes I was rude, and I was aggressive and I was offending a large group of people. But I was civlized about it.

'10 Gibson Firebird V
Marshall SL5
cdr_salamander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:37 AM   #5
Bladed-Vaults
Broceidon king of Brocean
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
ok that makes more sense.

so essentially. im still screwed. for the whole bedroom volume idea i was going for.
Bladed-Vaults is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:49 AM   #6
trashedlostfdup
land of white cannibals
 
trashedlostfdup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: deep south
not 100% on topic, but...

every 'line out' 'record out' 'silent output' (not modelers) i have heard clips of sound FAR inferior to that same amp properly mic'd.

i am sure that there are some that are exceptions, but most don't do as well.
__________________

Gibsons
USA Teles
Ibanez Prestiges
Wolfgangs

amps. lots.

5F1 parts on the way
finding a AVRI Strat
looking for an attenuator.
trashedlostfdup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:54 AM   #7
Bladed-Vaults
Broceidon king of Brocean
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by trashedlostfdup
not 100% on topic, but...

every 'line out' 'record out' 'silent output' (not modelers) i have heard clips of sound FAR inferior to that same amp properly mic'd.

i am sure that there are some that are exceptions, but most don't do as well.



yeah I wasnt expecting HQ sh** but at least something to fool around with and send rough tracks to the bandmates with.
like I said im on a graveyard shift so real recording isnt possible. the girlfriend would murder me. and then my neighbors would come burn my chopped up peices

but If i need to have this thing plugged into my cab to keep it safe it defeats the purpose im trying to get to.

and axe fx just isnt in my pocket book right now so dont anyone tempt me haha

Last edited by Bladed-Vaults : 02-28-2013 at 01:56 AM.
Bladed-Vaults is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:58 AM   #8
cdr_salamander
or simply Nick
 
cdr_salamander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Plano, TX
Guitar straight into the interface with some free VSTs and cab impulses will deliver great results.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunning~Kruger
Yes I was rude, and I was aggressive and I was offending a large group of people. But I was civlized about it.

'10 Gibson Firebird V
Marshall SL5
cdr_salamander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:02 AM   #9
Bladed-Vaults
Broceidon king of Brocean
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdr_salamander
Guitar straight into the interface with some free VSTs and cab impulses will deliver great results.


ok so now we get into territory Im not used too. I have all my recording equip for basic stuff. my bassist does all the fine tuning and such so treat me as a serious recording noob

what are vst's and cab impulses
Bladed-Vaults is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:03 AM   #10
cdr_salamander
or simply Nick
 
cdr_salamander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Plano, TX
Check out the recording forum on this site and they should have a sticky with all of that information in it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunning~Kruger
Yes I was rude, and I was aggressive and I was offending a large group of people. But I was civlized about it.

'10 Gibson Firebird V
Marshall SL5
cdr_salamander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:08 AM   #11
Bladed-Vaults
Broceidon king of Brocean
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
headed there now... in the mean time what is a load box? I assume its a way to simulate having a cab plugged in so your not killing your amp?
Bladed-Vaults is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:16 AM   #12
Deadpool_25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
I think you should probably just get an Axe-Fx. Definitely the best solution to your problem.






__________________
Guitars
- Fender John Mayer Strat
- Fender MIJ Strat
- Epiphone Bonamassa LP
- Epiphone Dot

Amp
- Tweed Blues Jr. NOS
- Vypyr 60

Deadpool_25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:22 AM   #13
Bladed-Vaults
Broceidon king of Brocean
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadpool_25
I think you should probably just get an Axe-Fx. Definitely the best solution to your problem.








your not a nice man hahaha

I have almost sold my nitrox to buy axe fx soo many times its not even funny :/
Bladed-Vaults is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:24 AM   #14
Deadpool_25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Dude....you KNOW you want it....
__________________
Guitars
- Fender John Mayer Strat
- Fender MIJ Strat
- Epiphone Bonamassa LP
- Epiphone Dot

Amp
- Tweed Blues Jr. NOS
- Vypyr 60

Deadpool_25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:24 AM   #15
trashedlostfdup
land of white cannibals
 
trashedlostfdup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: deep south
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdr_salamander
Guitar straight into the interface with some free VSTs and cab impulses will deliver great results.


still not anywhere near as well as proper mic'ing. rough tracks yea, but i doubt i would record a single for a band with a an out going into impulses.

i play all night typically i usually 1am-4am, my dual terror on 7 watt mode at the right volume my wife has never complained, and she sleeps through the night.
__________________

Gibsons
USA Teles
Ibanez Prestiges
Wolfgangs

amps. lots.

5F1 parts on the way
finding a AVRI Strat
looking for an attenuator.
trashedlostfdup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:30 AM   #16
cdr_salamander
or simply Nick
 
cdr_salamander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Plano, TX
I have heard VST/impulse setups destroy poorly and well-mic'd setups.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunning~Kruger
Yes I was rude, and I was aggressive and I was offending a large group of people. But I was civlized about it.

'10 Gibson Firebird V
Marshall SL5
cdr_salamander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:40 AM   #17
Bladed-Vaults
Broceidon king of Brocean
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
theres a dude on youtube Drewsif stalin
who records with a revalver and impules and all of his stuff sounds epic.
but im so confused on all that nonsense. (yes I am reading the recording pages as we speak so ill slowly figure it out i suppose)

I never saw the need to learn about all the simulation stuff when I have 4 perfectly good high end amps and 2 cabs to get whatever tones I want.

If i got axe fx it would just be a bedroom toy no need for me to drop 1200+ on it for that
I know the pd hd is a cheaper alternitive but im one of those go big or go home types :/ so its not an option for my ego
Bladed-Vaults is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:41 AM   #18
cdr_salamander
or simply Nick
 
cdr_salamander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Plano, TX
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunning~Kruger
Yes I was rude, and I was aggressive and I was offending a large group of people. But I was civlized about it.

'10 Gibson Firebird V
Marshall SL5
cdr_salamander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:42 AM   #19
trashedlostfdup
land of white cannibals
 
trashedlostfdup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: deep south
ninja;d


Quote:
Originally Posted by cdr_salamander
I have heard VST/impulse setups destroy poorly and well-mic'd setups.


just curious, what ratio would you say?

i am sure you are more knowledgeable than i with vst's without question.

i am just saying from what i have heard on the vast majority a decently/good mic setup sound better than a vst. i heard lots of shitty vst's, but again maybe i wasn't looking in the right place. i have seen a few decent ones, but still never anything i would put on a demo from my experience.

if you have a good demo, of both mic and vst in a similar situation i would like to hear it.
__________________

Gibsons
USA Teles
Ibanez Prestiges
Wolfgangs

amps. lots.

5F1 parts on the way
finding a AVRI Strat
looking for an attenuator.

Last edited by trashedlostfdup : 02-28-2013 at 02:42 AM. Reason: ninja'd
trashedlostfdup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:46 AM   #20
trashedlostfdup
land of white cannibals
 
trashedlostfdup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: deep south
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdr_salamander
[url]http://



that was very impressive. by far one of the best i have heard. how long did it take you to set everything up and dial anything in?
__________________

Gibsons
USA Teles
Ibanez Prestiges
Wolfgangs

amps. lots.

5F1 parts on the way
finding a AVRI Strat
looking for an attenuator.
trashedlostfdup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:00 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.