Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 02-28-2013, 11:25 PM   #1
crazysam23_Atax
Burning away
 
crazysam23_Atax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cal-eye-forn-ia
Latency Issues

So, tonight I'm experimenting with running a couple of different instruments into my DAW and recording them at the same time. I've run into a few latency issues. How exactly would I resolve this?

Using Reaper as my DAW, btw.

Here's a clip:
https://soundcloud.com/insane-funeral/experiment

I don't know if anyone can hear anything odd about that clip though (I really can't hear anything odd in the clip personally as far as recording two guitars at the same time), as the latency issues were only when using the DAW itself.
__________________
Tunes?

Bandcamp

Now working on my upcoming EP "Discarnate". See the expected track list on my bandcamp.



Terry Prachett is funnier than you! Discworld
crazysam23_Atax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 11:52 PM   #2
jetwash69
Registered User
 
jetwash69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Have you tried muting the monitoring in the DAW and hook up speakers/headphones directly to your interface to do the monitoring? I don't know if your interface supports that, but that's what I have to do with mine.

You won't be able to monitor VSTs/effects in real time this way, but at least you won't have the latency.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiggityswah
Welcome to UG. Everyone here will piss you off at some point, it's just what we do.
jetwash69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 11:56 PM   #3
crazysam23_Atax
Burning away
 
crazysam23_Atax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cal-eye-forn-ia
Hmm...that might work. Let me try it, thanks.
__________________
Tunes?

Bandcamp

Now working on my upcoming EP "Discarnate". See the expected track list on my bandcamp.



Terry Prachett is funnier than you! Discworld
crazysam23_Atax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 02:27 AM   #4
Spaztikko
*
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazysam23_Atax
Hmm...that might work. Let me try it, thanks.


IIRC You have the scarlett 2i4 yeah? Use direct monitoring in the interface.
Spaztikko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 02:40 AM   #5
crazysam23_Atax
Burning away
 
crazysam23_Atax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cal-eye-forn-ia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spaztikko
IIRC You have the scarlett 2i4 yeah? Use direct monitoring in the interface.

Well, the Sapphire 6, which is pretty much the same thing. But will do.
__________________
Tunes?

Bandcamp

Now working on my upcoming EP "Discarnate". See the expected track list on my bandcamp.



Terry Prachett is funnier than you! Discworld
crazysam23_Atax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 03:01 AM   #6
jetwash69
Registered User
 
jetwash69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spaztikko
IIRC You have the scarlett 2i4 yeah? Use direct monitoring in the interface.


Just to make sure I was communicating clearly--do you mean the same thing I did--'cause what you said is exactly what I was talking about. Of course, if you don't mute the tracks in the DAW, you'll still get an echo from the computer speakers, if they're not disabled.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiggityswah
Welcome to UG. Everyone here will piss you off at some point, it's just what we do.
jetwash69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 04:18 AM   #7
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
This will work around the issue, but it won't solve it which may be a problem if tracking DI guitars for use with amp sims (because it won't sound even close to what you'll have at the end). I assume you've checked to make sure you're using ASIO? and you're buffer is set as low as you can without having crackling, slowing, etc? What latency does it say you're getting in the top right? if it's set up correctly it should be pretty low.
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 07:48 AM   #8
Spaztikko
*
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetwash69
Just to make sure I was communicating clearly--do you mean the same thing I did--'cause what you said is exactly what I was talking about. Of course, if you don't mute the tracks in the DAW, you'll still get an echo from the computer speakers, if they're not disabled.


Oh far out yes it is Sorry.
Spaztikko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 01:01 PM   #9
jetwash69
Registered User
 
jetwash69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spaztikko
Oh far out yes it is Sorry.

No harm, no foul. Just checking my writing and reading to make sure the right messages were coming and going.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiggityswah
Welcome to UG. Everyone here will piss you off at some point, it's just what we do.
jetwash69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 10:49 PM   #10
crazysam23_Atax
Burning away
 
crazysam23_Atax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cal-eye-forn-ia
Ok, so I recently installed Windows on a 80GB partition. I'm experiencing a bigger issue than before. Using ASIO...

I just have drums going, but you don't even hear the drums at 150bpm in Reaper. Instead, it sounds insanely slow. The buffer length is set at 3ms. The input latency is 7.3; output latency at 10.3. Sample rate and sample format are 44100 & 16 bit respectively.

So, wtf is up with this latency? I was getting clear drums just last night, and I've had Windows on this partition for about a week. Wtf?
__________________
Tunes?

Bandcamp

Now working on my upcoming EP "Discarnate". See the expected track list on my bandcamp.



Terry Prachett is funnier than you! Discworld

Last edited by crazysam23_Atax : 03-12-2013 at 10:56 PM.
crazysam23_Atax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 05:42 AM   #11
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
I think it's a CPU/Ram issue here... not an interface one.
__________________
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 11:42 AM   #12
crazysam23_Atax
Burning away
 
crazysam23_Atax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cal-eye-forn-ia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChemicalFire
I think it's a CPU/Ram issue here... not an interface one.

Hmm...that may be true. I may need to allocate more memory to Windows...
__________________
Tunes?

Bandcamp

Now working on my upcoming EP "Discarnate". See the expected track list on my bandcamp.



Terry Prachett is funnier than you! Discworld
crazysam23_Atax is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:47 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.