Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 03-15-2013, 09:15 AM   #1
robertwilliam9

Help with sweep picking...

For whatever reason I've never been able to get the hang of sweep picking. I've been playing guitar for over 16 years, and for some strange reason, sweep picking has never felt right to me.

I think it definitely has an effect on my ability to play lead guitar, as I've always been more comfortable in a rhythm role.

Does anyone have any suggestions or relatable experience with this?
Dunlop Picks and Elixir Strings .48

WEBSITE
guitarchalk.com
robertwilliam9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 09:24 AM   #2
Zaphod_Beeblebr
Shallow and pedantic.

The real issue is identifying why you've never been able to get it. Obviously no one here can answer that and until you know the only information we can give you would be the same stuff you can find anywhere.

Quote:
Originally Posted by steven seagull
Zaphod wins...flawless victory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freepower
Another flawless victory for Zaph!

Zaphod_Beeblebr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 09:41 AM   #3
robertwilliam9

That's true, but I was still hoping for some suggestions and possibly some tips from people who have struggled with it like I have. Maybe I just need to dedicate a few months of practicing to it.

Obviously I'm not asking you to look into the context of my entire guitar learning experience haha.

WEBSITE
guitarchalk.com
Old 03-15-2013, 09:48 AM   #4
Zaphod_Beeblebr
Shallow and pedantic.

Again, the tips we come up with will be nothing different from what you can find anywhere else: go slow, make sure you get it right, make sure you're sweeping as one connected motion rather than individually picking each string, mute properly with both hands. It's all the same unless we know what you have trouble with.

Quote:
Originally Posted by steven seagull
Zaphod wins...flawless victory.

Quote: