Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 03-16-2013, 12:49 AM   #1
trashedlostfdup
land of white cannibals
 
trashedlostfdup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: deep south
MIM strat bridge saddles

i saw that my little e string wan't running in the groove of the saddles, because one screw is missing and it was riding on the screw. i loosen the string put it back on track i the saddle. two minutes later it broke (now i half expected that). i see similar wear on one or two other saddle's. i know i could likely file them down if i fount the right saddles.

however what do you think about the graphite (graphtech saddles), then i could pop them right in and if i were to get rid of it i could just swap it back.

this guitar was given to me (at an extremebly cheap price) who moved overseas and i will probably never see again, so i would like to have it all origional at some point.

i haven't heard anything bad about graphtech sandles, thoughts?

would these be right for a '95 MIM? http://www.musiciansfriend.com/acce...-2-1-16-spacing

is it worth the price? or should i buy a small enough file and try to fix the burrs?
__________________

Gibsons
USA Teles
Ibanez Prestiges
Wolfgangs

amps. lots.

5F1 parts on the way
finding a AVRI Strat
looking for an attenuator.
trashedlostfdup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 09:37 AM   #2
gregs1020
Hi mom!
 
gregs1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
maybe it broke because it was riding on the screw?

why not just get a new screw and put it back to stock?

graphtec stuff is decent, seems to roll off some of the highs. (could be good or bad depending on what you prefer).
gregs1020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 02:45 AM   #3
trashedlostfdup
land of white cannibals
 
trashedlostfdup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: deep south
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregs1020
maybe it broke because it was riding on the screw?

why not just get a new screw and put it back to stock?

graphtec stuff is decent, seems to roll off some of the highs. (could be good or bad depending on what you prefer).


no there are several sharp grooves in it, where the string has ridden before. i know that riding the screw was probably the worst, but there are at least two other grooves in the saddle accross the width. its on another string too.

the screw is fine, just that there is another string with an extra groove in it

i think i have to bite the ****ing bullet on something. if not an upgrade isn't always a bad thing.

rolling off of the highs is not a problem. potentially welcomed.

is there an alternative to graphtech? (other than original issue)
__________________

Gibsons
USA Teles
Ibanez Prestiges
Wolfgangs

amps. lots.

5F1 parts on the way
finding a AVRI Strat
looking for an attenuator.
trashedlostfdup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 03:11 AM   #4
MrFlibble
Puts a bangin' donk on it
 
MrFlibble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Salisbury, Wiltshire
Those Graph Tech saddles will fit any Strat bridge; there may be small gaps between the saddles on some reissue and American bridges. The Mexican guitars use a variety of saddle spacings so best measure your guitar's bridge. Graph Tech make a wider version for American and reissue bridges, if you find your bridge is the wider type and having gaps will bother you.
__________________
Yes, I know everything. No, I can't play worth a damn.
A child is trafficked and sold for sex slavery every 30 seconds. Support Love146.
MrFlibble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 10:26 AM   #5
gregs1020
Hi mom!
 
gregs1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by trashedlostfdup
is there an alternative to graphtech? (other than original issue)

for strat saddles? yes, there is no shortage of strat saddles available. gfs/callahan/gotoh, allparts, stumac, all have strat saddles.

like flibble said though, know your spacing. 2 7/32 is vintage/american spacing, whereas 2 1/16 is squier, MIM or MIK spacing. saddles can come in two different widths.
gregs1020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 01:08 AM   #6
trashedlostfdup
land of white cannibals
 
trashedlostfdup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: deep south
where would i be measuring? saddle to saddle (outer end to other outer end)?

gregs mentioning the other brand, what would you personally use?

i am really not a strat guy, i have owned over a dozen and have one now (this one) that sees the light every few weeks. i just want it functional.

also if it does matter one point i was considering a new trem block, but was told that i have the bigger block on my trem and it wouldn't be worth a swap. would that matter?

also its a 1995 model. i don't know if they did anything different between then and now.

thanks.
__________________

Gibsons
USA Teles
Ibanez Prestiges
Wolfgangs

amps. lots.

5F1 parts on the way
finding a AVRI Strat
looking for an attenuator.
trashedlostfdup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:03 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.