Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Acoustic & Classical Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 03-21-2013, 01:37 AM   #1
DudE132

Uneven tone?

I'm having some trouble with my acoustic. My sixth sting is tuned to E and I can have it tuned perfectly, but if I play an open note on my sixth it sounds like a nightmare. The string does not sustain an even tone. Closed notes are fine but the open note just sounds like shit. I want the same even sound all throughout the entire note and I just can't get it.

I'm not experienced from a hardware perspective so can anyone enlighten me on why my it sounds so bad and how to fix it? Do the strings need to be changed? I may take it to a professional to have it set up

Last edited by DudE132 : 03-21-2013 at 01:39 AM.
DudE132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 07:58 AM   #2
snakestretcher

Could be several things. My first thought is that your nut might need some attention. We can eliminate the bridge saddle because you say fretted notes sound ok, thus we can assume that everything from the first fret onwards is ok.
When did you last change your strings, and do all the other strings sound alright played open?
snakestretcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 02:22 PM   #3
DudE132

It has been quite a while since I've changed my strings.

And as far as I can tell the other strings for the most part sound fine. Sometimes they sound mediocre. Not as bad as the sixth though.
Old 03-21-2013, 05:57 PM   #4
snakestretcher

Do your guitar, and your ears, a favour and get some new strings on there. If that doesn't help get back to me.
Old 03-22-2013, 11:10 PM   #5
DudE132

I have no idea how to string an acoustic so I'll go to a local store tomorrow and have them do it. I'll also ask them about my problems.
Old 03-23-2013, 06:13 AM   #6
ivan987