Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 03-22-2013, 03:44 AM   #1
Useful Utensils

Question Should I get a Epiphone Les Paul Standard

Hi guys, I'm looking to get a whole new setup (guitar + amp), it is completely inevitable and necessary. I have a Fender Stratocaster rip-off and a brandless amp, the tone is crap, and that's sugar-coating it. I'm starting to play small gigs, and I have to borrow amps/guitars. I'm definitely considering an Epiphone Les Paul Standard and a Line 6 Spider IV 75, I think I've been playing for about 6 months and this duo is just toneless bland crap. I've heard great things about Les Paul Standards and for a beginner/intermediate it seems quite suitable. I've found some online for about $420, in a plain black colour, and a local music store said it'd be about $750 for one with a cool maple (I think) top with a nice gradient sunbursty-colour. I've only been to one music store in search of this guitar, so hopefully I could either talk them down to $500, or buy one from another store . If you guys could post some opinions/suggestions about the Les Paul Standard, and the Spider IV 75 would be great! Thanks in advance.
Useful Utensils is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 04:20 AM   #2
randywolf244
resident arrogant

That's a great amp. I have a buddy with one. I'm personally not a fan of les Pauls but to each his own their great guitars I'm just more of a fender guy. Good luck man
randywolf244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 04:20 AM   #3
dazza027
Serial Pain in the Arse