Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 03-22-2013, 04:35 AM   #1
jandm9002

Mexican Strat vs. Yamaha Pacifica

Here is my dilemma. First off I am a beginner guitar player. I bought a Fender beginners acoustic to learn a little on and to see if this would be something I may be interested in spending some time with. Well I find I really enjoy practicing and I see that it is quite a bit easier to learn on an electric rather than a cheap acoustic. I sold the acoustic and am now looking at two options. Fender has a sale on right now and I can get a brand new Mexican made Stratocaster for about $450.00 all in. There is also , at our local second hand shop , a very good condition Yamaha Pacifica 112j which would be about $180.00 all in. I don't mind spending the extra money if the Fender is going to be a superior guitar which I will enjoy for a longer period of time but if they are very close to the same would it be worth spending an extra $270.00? I also have to keep in mind that one is brand new and one is second hand, I have no idea what The Yamaha is worth new. Any and all comments, advice and ideas is greatly appreciated.
jandm9002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 04:47 AM   #2
randywolf244
resident arrogant

Dude I would go with the fender. I don't know about the yamaha but I know that I've owned a lot of guitars and easily the best one I've ever owned is my Mexican fender strat. The one I still have I've had about 10 years, but I've owned 2 others. Unfortunately when hard times hit, selling a guitar is my usual go to plan lol. So I'm down just a few right now but the Mexican fender is still the best one I have
randywolf244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 04:51 AM   #3
SteveJB1989