Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 03-24-2013, 05:45 PM   #1
Lavatain
5150 III Enthusiast

Amps and MIDI

Can someone explain to me how this footswitch works with this amp to allow me to create multiple settings and let me press one button rather than dancing around on stage to switch from clean/effects to lead gain to crunch etc.

I'm totally new to this MIDI concept of changing settings on the fly and I see no write/store button on the MIDI controller. I'm getting this amp soon and saw the MIDI idea and figured that'd help me a lot (I'm not getting the amp for its MIDI feature).

Cheers to anyone who can give me some light on this subject aha
Lavatain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 06:10 PM   #2
gumbilicious
beginner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lavatain
Can someone explain to me how this footswitch works with this amp to allow me to create multiple settings and let me press one button rather than dancing around on stage to switch from clean/effects to lead gain to crunch etc.

I'm totally new to this MIDI concept of changing settings on the fly and I see no write/store button on the MIDI controller. I'm getting this amp soon and saw the MIDI idea and figured that'd help me a lot (I'm not getting the amp for its MIDI feature).

Cheers to anyone who can give me some light on this subject aha

midi is a protocol, meaning it is a way to encode information for various purposes to be sent from machine to machine.

the midi mouse is designed to interface with midi compatible devices. what the midi mouse generally does is allow you to flip through a number of preset patches encoded in the device.

for example, i have an quadraverb MFX unit that has like 100 presets i can program into it. i can plug the midi mouse into the quadraverb and move through the different patches.