Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 03-28-2013, 02:40 AM   #1
Spartan070sarge
Sir Psycho Sexy

Picking my first tube amp

So, I've been rocking on my Roland Cube 30x for nearly five years now, and I'm looking to step up to a REAL amp in the near future. I've fantasized about having a nice tube amp for awhile, and it finally makes financial sense for me to buy one within the next six months. I'm looking for a combo, but if there's a head/speaker combo of comparable price and quality, I'll definitely consider it! I've been window shopping for quite some time, and while on some level that's helped me narrow my choices down, it's also opened my ears to sounds I previously wouldn't have considered.

My primary guitar influence is John Frusciante, in case you couldn't tell. Tone-wise, I tend to like "Hendrixian" (to coin a phrase) kind of stuff. As such, I want an amp that can produce crystal clear clean sounds, but can also get a little dirty when the time is right.

So far, I'm seriously considering the following:
-Vox AC30
-Fender Deville (probably 410)
-something from the Marshall Haze line
-also, Orange amps are so nice.... but so expensive.

Let's say for the sake of argument, I'm looking to spend about $1000. Less expensive is better, but not at the expense of quality. I'm looking to gig locally relatively soon, and I'd love something that can give me a Hendrix/Frusciante-esque tone while also sounding nice on a clean setting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Frusciante
Music isn't the Olympics. It's not about showing other people what you can do with a piece of wood in your hands that has strings on, it's about making sounds that are good.
Spartan070sarge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 02:49 AM   #2
souperman08