Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings > Original Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 03-28-2013, 01:36 PM   #1
bkrieger62

Original Progressive Metal song

Here is a video play-through of an original I just finished.

Let me know what you think! Any constructive criticism as far as the mix and recording goes is encouraged as well. I am still learning and love other peoples opinions!
bkrieger62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 04:19 PM   #2
Sir-Shredalot
Banned

cool man, liked the crossover from modern heavy to 80s clean. lots of riffs based on upbeats so maybe drumbeat with snare on beat 1 then beat w snare on beat 3.

eg

s kk s kk skk skk

kk kks k k kk

your tone was very knarly i would smoothen it out via mic positioning or tone adjust and od pedal.

Last edited by Sir-Shredalot : 03-28-2013 at 04:22 PM.
Sir-Shredalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 04:37 PM   #3
bkrieger62

Excellent point man! I never thought about doing that and that would sound great. I'm just picking up drumming over this past year and have been trying to expand my drum mind. Thanks for the input! I do feel like the guitar tone needs something and I'm glad it's not just me that thinks so. I will definitely try some of your suggestions
Old 03-28-2013, 10:50 PM   #4
bouttimeijoined

great work. tight chops, very technical. Mix-wise, it feels like each layer is too loud and the whole track is a bit over compressed. Take everything down a notch and you might find it helps the mix sound a bit...bigger.

Also correct plural of spectrum is spectra.
bouttimeijoined is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 02:50 PM   #5
joao.parreira.1

Great, just awsome!
joao.parreira.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 03:37 PM   #6
bkrieger62

Quote:
Originally Posted by bouttimeijoined