Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 03-30-2013, 09:17 PM   #1
timcrow420
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Should I sell my guitar stack to buy a PA system?

So I am in this prediciment, first I should probably let you know what type of situation im in.

I have been a solo artist for the last year and Ive been making all sorts of music from hip hop beats to heavy metal instrumentals. I have a crate xt120 cab sitting on a crate cabinet. Ive been using it for 10 years, its awesome.

But I have been producing a couple friends and getting them on wav files and promoting them along with my rock rap record.

Would it be wiser for me to ditch my guitar stack and get a decent PA? my recording studio is just in a medium sized bedroom, plugging my guitar/ bass/ keyboards into one PA seems more realistic than having rigs for each instrument.

What do you guys think? I love my amp, but I am just limited on space here!
timcrow420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:31 PM   #2
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
Do it if it makes sense to you. You will probably only get $300ish for it
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:37 PM   #3
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
And you'd need something like a Pod (or a PC based amp sim) between the guitar and the PA.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:31 PM   #4
timcrow420
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
And you'd need something like a Pod (or a PC based amp sim) between the guitar and the PA.



Well see when I preform im going to be strictly on the microphone, I was going to mix down all the songs ive made on pro tools and fruity loops, mute my vocals out, and preform them live, I am unable to rap/sing and play guitar at the same time.

But I figured if I ever found anyone who wants to join me, I could have them plug into the PA. and not have to worry about bringing amps and whatnot, so PODs are just a good preamp to plug into before sending it into the mixer?




300 bucks is cool, I work a fulltime job and have minimal bills
timcrow420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:36 PM   #5
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Yeah, basically. The have all manner of effects including amplifier simulators so it sounds more like a miked amp rather than a preamp line out. Playing live, the Pod would be what you need. You just plug it into the PA and sound like you're going through a proper guitar rig. They aren't as responsive as a real tube amp but they'll get you the general sound.

http://line6.com/podhd/multi-effects/
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:54 PM   #6
timcrow420
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Yeah, basically. The have all manner of effects including amplifier simulators so it sounds more like a miked amp rather than a preamp line out. Playing live, the Pod would be what you need. You just plug it into the PA and sound like you're going through a proper guitar rig. They aren't as responsive as a real tube amp but they'll get you the general sound.

http://line6.com/podhd/multi-effects/



thats cool man Ive heard great things about PODs, ive just never went that route. Ive done VST's, I have a boss me-25 that I use before I plug into my amp, I was just under the impression I could plug into the Boss, plug that into the mixer and adjust the sound acoordinaly, Looks like I may need to save up another paycheck or 2 haha.

But as far as a PA system do you have any recommendations?
timcrow420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:56 PM   #7
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
If your in the USA www.seismicaudiospeakers.com has some hard to beat prices on speakers
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 11:20 PM   #8
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
The ME-25 has amp sims. You'll get away with that straight into the desk. I didn't mean that it had to be a Pod per se, just a Pod type thing. The ME-25 is a Pod type thing.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification

Last edited by Cathbard : 03-30-2013 at 11:26 PM.
Cathbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:47 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.