Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 03-31-2013, 12:47 AM   #1
davor2705

Line 6 UX1 vs. UX2

So i want to begin recording some stuff,so i'm looking into recording interfaces.Im a beginner so i want something on a budget to make some decent recordings at home.
Can someone tell what exactly are the differences between these 2?I'm looking into recording guitar and bass.

Are there some better options?help me out because i know little about this things .

thanks
davor2705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 02:30 AM   #2
chatterbox272

The differences pretty much are the UX1 has a single mic port and a single instrument port, so you can record from 1 mic, 1 guitar/bass, or 1 mic AND 1 guitar/bass. The UX2 has two combo ports, so you can record 1 mic, 1 guitar/bass, 2 mics, or 2 guitars/basses at the same time. So the UX2 is much more flexible than the UX1.

Yes there are better options the (slightly overhyped) typical recommendation here is the Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, or Saffire 6 (same thing, but the Saffire is an older model). If you want 2 combo inputs on the cheap then there's the Steinberg CI1 which will be as good as the UX2 but it's cheaper because you don't have Pod Farm (which can be easily replaced with better free stuff or the few good commercial ones).
Masquerade: #19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 04:02 AM   #3
GaryBillington
Grumpier than normal.

Go read the sticky.
Laney VC30 210 + GS112VE cab
Jet City JCA22H
GaryBillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 06:38 AM   #4
Jimmy Blue

I had the UX1 as a kid - if you just want to record guitar and bass separately, its great.

I even used it again the other day for exactly this and it worked fine
Jimmy Blue is offline   Reply With Quote