User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 04-04-2013, 11:15 AM   #1
crazycory94
i like potatoes

Question Help with Mixing Vocals

Hey everyone,

I've been recording music for a couple years now but it's always been instrumental. I just started mixing this song for my band and Everything (IMO) sounded great UNTIL I put the vocals in there. It seems that they are either too quiet or too harsh...

Its hard for me to explain so here is the link to my bands profile... If you have any suggestions on how to improve it that would be great! Thanks

http://www.reverbnation.com/theattackprinciple

Check me out on YouTube!
http://www.youtube.com/user/crazycory11

PSN: mouseboy94
crazycory94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 11:45 AM   #2
Cavalcade
Days, I feel it...

Before I listen to it, did you put any compression on the vocals? 99% of "too loud sometimes, ok quiet other times" can be fixed with a nice 20:1 comp.
Old 04-04-2013, 11:46 AM   #3
crazycory94
i like potatoes

i did put some compression.... i think I had it at around 9:1.... I'll try more

Check me out on YouTube!

Old 04-04-2013, 11:47 AM   #4
Cavalcade
Days, I feel it...

Set the threshold really low, too.
Old 04-04-2013, 11:49 AM   #5
tim_mop

Dont go 9:1.

The thing you need to do is balance the threshold, and ratio together.

For singing try 2:1 ratio, lower the threshold to a point where the quieter vocals are, and give that a try. if that's not doing enough, increase the ratio or lower the threshold. Try both and use your ears!

After that, most of the time you'll need to automate the fader in the mix, because compression only goes so far.

WAIT: to the poster above, is 20:1 what people normally use? That's pretty much a limiter! Doesn't it make the vocals sound horrid?

EDIT2 Just having a discussion in the office, apparently it depends on the compressor. Some can be slammed, others better not to.

I guess experiment! But understand how the thing works, learn the threshold and ratio and attack stuff