Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Songwriting & Lyrics
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 04-04-2013, 05:26 PM   #1
artfulmusic

Exclamation Singing vs. Songwriting- Help?

Hi guys,
I have some questions about songwriting. Its always been difficult for me.
You see, I can sing, play piano and guitar well. I do lots of covers and can pick up music really easily.
The thing is, I have problems trying to write music independently or try to figure out new melodies. I have never written a song before, and have tried really hard. It usually ends up as a really cheap version of one of my favorite songs.
I listen to lots and lots of music, I especially love indie, folk, and some rock.
Tips and ideas would be really appreciated; I will answer any questions you might need about my musical background. I really need help with this...
Thank you so much!!
artfulmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 05:47 PM   #2
pushkar000

you might want to try broaden your genres?
i dont sing, i dont play piano, i dont do covers.
all i do is play guitar and write music and steal lyrics and mash them together.
[disclaimer : what follows is only related to the music. there isnt a hint of lyric writing in this. i consider the lyrics and music both to be a part of what we call songwriting]
for me, how it works is cause i feel like i sound original, and how that works is cause i listen to metal, prog rock, dubstep, psytrance, jazz, rock, punk, classical, blues...anything. different eras of music, different traditions of music(im half japanese half indian and i live in israel, thats 3 different stylistic aproaches there)
dont listen to things just for the sake of listening to them.
but always keep an open mind, and be quick to pick up and explore any new genre/style in music that interests you.