Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 04-05-2013, 11:03 PM   #1
ThrowingStones3

Help with first setup:

Ok. Any advice would be greatly appreciated here. I've been asking people for years and everyone has a different answer, which I'm sure will hold true on here. But I'm finally financially ready to make some music. My wife will be away doing research for 6 months, and I want to make her some "songs"--- we'll see. I've been playing for about 3 years and love it. Just jamming over top of music is so soothing and makes you forget all of your worries. i ****ing love making music with just my guitar, but I still haven't actually made any.

My current set up:

Pevey "telecaster"

Small Epiphone amp with one input.

small digitech effects pedal (which i hate, but dont know why, i mean it has some cool customization and a simple delay, but dont like it)

and thats basically it. acoustic, and a mic as well.

Objective:

To be able to make beats with a drum machine (analog.. NOT on computer), record them, play over top of them with guitar, and record. The problem is you can't play over multiple loops, just one.

Question 1:What is a simple way to record me playing over top of a drum machine?

Question 1a: Is USB tech better than like an analog 8 or 16 track? b. Is this because of ease of editing? c. Do most of these devices come with editing software?

Question 2: for most of those usb looping machines, do you need a sound card?

Question 3: is it difficult to install a sound card

Question 4: Will the 1 input thing not allow me to have a loop station and a drum machine going at same time?

Question 5: Tell me about drum machines...I've seen these drum pedals as well. whats the deal?