Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 04-07-2013, 09:00 AM   #1
CJGunner7

Is a guitar teacher worth it?

I have been playing for roughly 6 months, i think i'm progressing fine but i want to be the absolute best i can possibly be, i know chords and some scales, would a guitar teacher greatly enhance my progress? also would jamming with other players greatly help?

Cheers for help
CJGunner7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 09:18 AM   #2
Zaphod_Beeblebr
Shallow and pedantic.

Jamming with other people always helps. It's one of the best things you can do for your playing in my opinion.

Teachers... a good one will be of almost immeasurable help but a bad one can actually be damaging. If you are going to get a teacher don't be afraid to ask questions and make 100% sure you are learning exactly what you want to be learning. A lot of people make the mistake of being completely passive when they're being taught but you should take an active part in it: make sure you're getting the most out of your money and never be afraid to quit and find someone else if the person you've gone to doesn't meet your standards or help you with things you want to learn.

Quote:
Originally Posted by steven seagull
Zaphod wins...flawless victory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freepower
Another flawless victory for Zaph!

Zaphod_Beeblebr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 09:21 AM   #3
CelestialGuitar
Celestial Wish Guitarist