Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 04-07-2013, 11:33 AM   #1
EilisMD

Newbie Question!

Hi there,

I am just beginning to play acoustic and I am having a problem, and I want to know if only practice will solve it. Do any of you have tips for making sure the little finger doesn't mute a string? Example, when I play a "D" chord, it doesn't come out right, and I am frustrated. Advice or tips would be greatly appreciated!!

Beth
EilisMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 11:43 AM   #2
barnesybaby
UG's Dimarzio Expert

Most people would play a D chord with their 1st, 2nd and 3rd finger with the little finger being kept out of the way entirely, as seen here: img.youtube.com/vi/yh6sPqDEZCY/0.jpg

Practice will always help improve technique, string muting through unwanted hand positions (especially in barre chords) is something that people just have to work on.

Try to make sure your finger tips are at a near 90 degree angle to the fret board as that will ensure the minimum chance of them interfering with other strings.

Hope that helps
Ibanez Prestige SA1260 //
Schecter C1 Blackjack //
Fernandes Ravelle Elite //
Wahburn HB35 Semi-Hollowbody
Blackstar HT40
barnesybaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 11:49 AM   #3
EilisMD

Oooooooh, no little finger??? OK, I'm going to check out that link and maybe that will solve my problem. It makes sense because my little finger is weak and I don't have as much control over it so it does get in the way... you're right!! Thanks so much for the advice!!
Old 04-07-2013, 12:05 PM   #4
derek8520

Quote:
Originally Posted by EilisMD
Oooooooh, no little finger??? OK, I'm going to check out that link and maybe that will solve my problem. It makes sense because my little finger is weak and I don't have as much control over it so it does get in the way... you're right!! Thanks so much for the advice!!