Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 04-07-2013, 09:16 PM   #1
KinkyC

Amount of music theory knowledge to be in a band

So a little back story that my question stems from, I'm trying to put a band together, so far I got a singer and possibly a drummer, not too bad. Yesterday the singer and I met up with a bassist that was interested in joining. He was a music theory "nut" (I guess you could put it that way), he started playing classical instruments then switched over to bass and still takes music theory classes. Anyway I thought it went great but apparently it did not. He texted me today saying how he wouldn't join the band because I didn't know any music theory and before I attempted to start a band I should learn.

I've been playing guitar for 6 years, so I'm pretty confident in my abilities. I'm definitely not a music theory expert but I do know basic stuff like scales, etc. and I can read music somewhat.

tl;dr: How much theory should I really know to start a band? I was comfortable with the amount I know but now I'm thinking twice. Am I just letting this asshole's comments get under my skin?
Old 04-07-2013, 09:31 PM   #2
food1010
Bassist

None, but it's always better to know theory than to not know theory.
Old 04-07-2013, 10:10 PM   #3
AlanHB
Godin's Resident Groupie

Zero. That bass guy needs a reality check.
Old 04-07-2013, 10:31 PM   #4
MaXiMuse
Has an X in his name

I'm a huge theory freak, I know all the scales, modes, octotonic, whole-scale and tritone dominant substitute and whatsoever, but that bass player is completely wrong. Theory can help you a lot but it has never been, and will never be mandatory.

But if you're in a prog band I would really, really advice you to learn it but for any rock/metal band (say Foo Fighters to Pearl Jam to Deftones) you don't really need it

This is an electronic track I made, influenced by Trentemøller and Meshuggah