Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 04-11-2013, 12:09 PM   #1
fplinski

Which amp could do the job? Help a newbie!

Hi,

My name is Fede and Iím new in the forum. Iíve been reading a lot here and since I encountered a problem with a recent investigation, I decided to sign up and ask about what Iíd do.

First a little background: I must say that Iím not really a guitarist, but a drummer. The drumset is my instrument of choice and Iíve been playing, gigging and working with it for 15 years. Iíve always wanted to learn how to play another instrument not related to percussion, and I started playing guitar last March, totally shocked about the great PC game ďRocksmithĒ. I tried it with my brothers Fender Stratocaster and I loved it, so I saved up some money and bought my very first guitar: A 2009 Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top in honey burst.

I started playing the game and having lots of fun, I like how it makes me practice chords, and using all my fingers across all the strings and all the fretboard, is really fun compared standard speed and independence developing exercises.
The thing is that, besides playing guitar a couple of hours with the game, Iíd like to play outside it, I mean, with an amp in my practice room, try different sounds, practice my favouritesí bands songs, and else. So, Iíll be in the market soon for a guitar amp.

What I must specify, is that Iím looking for an amp capable of using for playing alone at home at low volumes (I live in an apartment), and in the future, use it in a rehearsal room with my band, so it must be able to be used at low volumes, and along a full size, acoustic, unmuted drumset. What it will not be used for is gigging, so that isnít a problem.