Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Songwriting & Lyrics > Songwriting & Lyrics Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 04-12-2013, 02:15 PM   #1
krm27

Trouble focusing on finishing one song among many...

So, I have been doing song-writing for about six months, and nothing is really "finished" like something I'd be proud to share on SoundCloud. Part of this is that I've had a tough time learning home recording, as I'm a total noob at it, but I've got the basics of Reaper down and could probably do this with some real focus / dedication to just one song. That's where I seem to be having a problem.

I keep jumping from song to song, doing a bit on each before I seem to lose my mojo for that song, get bored with it, jump to one of the other songs I've been developing. Then shortly that happens with that song, and I jump again. When I only had 3-4 songs in development, I was still making progress. But, to worsen the issue, I find myself noodling and suddenly I come up with something brand new that I really want to develop into a song.

Now I've got like 12 songs in development, at various stages.

Some songs have chord progression, lyrics, melody, and simple beat worked out. But I need to record polished versions, figure out what I'm going to do about instrumentation (what combination of electric / acoustic / synth options --which are endless -- / effects), sequencing (intro, outro, where an instrumental might fit), and figuring out how I want to vary the percussion (so it's not just an identical beat sequence for each measure), and getting polished sections of each part recorded and then doing the cutting / pasting / tweaking. I don't write music, so I'm still trying to figure out a good way to write down / organize my thoughts on paper as to all this stuff.