Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 04-14-2013, 09:21 AM   #1
bradrox14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Help Recording Electric Drums?

Hey, I just want to know if it is possible to record my electric drums on garageband while using the drums sounds that came with the set ; not with the sounds garageband comes with. I'd like this because the GB sounds aren't as good to me.

If its not possible, is it possible with Audacity?
Yes I know, beginner in recording...

Thanks in advance!
bradrox14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:22 AM   #2
maggot9779
UG's Saint Nicduck
 
maggot9779's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Birmingham, UK
You can record a stereo track using the headphone out or whatever your kit has but you wont be able to record each kit piece separately that i'm aware of.

You might want to try drum samples using something like Addictive Drums or Superior Drummer.
__________________
OBEY THE DUCK!



Last.fm

Steam
maggot9779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:23 AM   #3
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
Record midi from your drum kit (it'll support it in some capacity) and then use that to trigger a sample based drum vst.
__________________
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:44 AM   #4
bradrox14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
So if I go into GB, would I use select software instrument?
bradrox14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 11:31 AM   #5
oneblackened
Future Breed Machine
 
oneblackened's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Asgaard
Yes, that's what you'd select. I'm not sure if Garage Band has a drum kit or not.


I'd seriously advise NOT using Garageband, because it's not good. Reaper is available for Mac OS, so I'd get that if you can.
__________________
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400
Ibanez S970
Charvel San Dimas Style 1 (MIJ)
oneblackened is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 11:33 AM   #6
bradrox14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Yea but I'm still wondering how to NOT use the crappy GB sounds, I want the sounds that cam with the drums.
But yea I have reaper, never explored how to use it but i'll try.
bradrox14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 11:48 AM   #7
GonzoBeatz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
You've confused a lot of people, This is what you mean right,

You want to record your electric drums using the inbuilt sounds, NOT the GB samples?

If this is the case listen to the first guy. Take whatever audio outputs it has into your soundcard. Then record them on garage band by setting up an audio channel
GonzoBeatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 11:59 AM   #8
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
I'd be surprised if the sounds in his electric kit we're better than a sampler. He'd be better off dropping $30 on the entry level of Steven Slate drums and using that.

No one was confused, it's just a bad idea to record drums that way.
__________________
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 01:30 PM   #9
bradrox14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Whats a better way to record electric drums then
bradrox14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 01:34 PM   #10
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
I already said... getting a decent drum machine (http://www.stevenslatedrums.com/custom.php)

Then use the electric kit to trigger that via midi. Electric kits in built sounds are pretty bad unless you're using a very expensive one and even then these vsti's still sound better. It's almost completely useless to record a drum kit in only two tracks. You can't do anything with it.
__________________
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 04:28 PM   #11
bradrox14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Ive tried, it doesnt work. Ive also tried using a Tascam interface; nothing works
bradrox14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 04:35 PM   #12
maggot9779
UG's Saint Nicduck
 
maggot9779's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Birmingham, UK
What kit are you using? Is it USB or MIDI? Have you set the output on the drum machine correctly?

How about on the DAW, have you set up MIDI correctly on there? A lot of DAWs allow you to select specific controllers and it will configure the ports for you.
__________________
OBEY THE DUCK!



Last.fm

Steam
maggot9779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 08:32 AM   #13
axemanchris
Awwww.... NOW what?!
 
axemanchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
ChemicalFire is right. Here is how you do it:

1. Record the midi out of the e-drum kit to the midi in for GB. This will produce a midi track in your software with all your drum hits exactly as you played them.

2-option A: Run the midi out from your computer to the midi in of your e-drums. Play the midi track from your computer so that it triggers the sounds in your hardware drum module that is part of your e-kit. This will mean your entire drum performance will play back as a single stereo track.

2-option B: Run the midi out from your computer to the midi in of your e-drums. Play the midi track - one drum at a time (say, kick), while muting the others - from your computer so that it triggers the sounds in your hardware drum module that is part of your e-kit. This will allow you to have each of your drums on its own track, giving your more options for mixing.

3. Run the audio line outs from your drum module to audio inputs into GB. Record the results (whether you chose option A or B) as many times as necessary.

4. Zoom in on your midi track and the resulting wav files. You'll probably notice a few ms of delay between the midi events and the audio events. It takes time for the signal to go to the drum module and back into the recorder. It should only be a few ms - maybe up to about 20ms or so. Move the audio drum files backwards in time to match.

And if you find that you actually DO like some software-based drums better.... no worries. You've still got a midi drum file that represents an actual human performance, which is the number one thing that differentiates a great sounding midi drum track from a not-so-good one.

CT
__________________
Could I get some more talent in the monitors, please?

I know it sounds crazy, but try to learn to inhale your voice. www.thebelcantotechnique.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawk
Chris is the king of relating music things to other objects in real life.
axemanchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:37 PM   #14
bradrox14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Finallyyy gottt ittt
using interface

thanks everyone for replying
bradrox14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 10:34 AM   #15
bradrox14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Except I only have the drums coming from the right and i can't get them to pan to the left or center or whatever at all
bradrox14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 03:06 AM   #16
diabolical
Registered User
 
diabolical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
You should be able to record the midi into GB, then trigger the drum brain back from GB and record the audio from that either in stereo or channel by channel.

If you want to do channel by channel you can say clone the original performance into 4 tracks, then from track 1 delete everything but the kicks, track 2 - delete everything but snare and so forth.
diabolical is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:36 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.